للعملات الأخرى بغير الدولار الأمريكي: EUR, CAD, AUD, GBP, التشفير

32 منكم يدعمون ربع الصيف بمبلغ 695 دولارًا. تم رفع 46٪ من متطلبات 1500 دولار.


ترودو يبحر بسفينة حربية عبر مضيق تايوان بينما يتوسل شي لمقابلته في مجموعة العشرين

يوضح ترودو مرة أخرى بالضبط السلوك الذي تسبب في رفض الصينيين للتواصل مع حكومته

إذا كنت تفضل أن تكون في عبودية أمريكا على أن تخدم مصالحك الخاصة ، فاخدم نفسك

Related: حاول جاستن ترودو إقناع الصينيين بأخذ دعوته منذ يناير

أصبحت كندا مؤخرًا أحدث دولة تبحر بفرقاطة عبر مضيق تايوان الخطوة التي أشار مسؤولون حكوميون إلى أنها لم تكن مقصودة على أنها تدلي ببيان أوتاوا ضد الصين.

أبحرت سفينة HMCS Regina ، وهي واحدة من 12 فرقاطات تديرها البحرية الكندية ، ووحدة التجديد البحرية Asterix عبر الممر المائي المتنازع عليه يوم الثلاثاء بعد مغادرتها خليج كام رانه في فيتنام.

موقع Marine Traffic يظهر فرقاطة تسير من بحر الصين الجنوبي عبر مضيق تايوان في اتجاه بحر الصين الشرقي. وفقًا لـ Navy Recognition ، تعد كل من HMCS Regina و Asterix جزءًا من عملية NEON ، وهي مهمة لضمان تطبيق عقوبات الأمم المتحدة ضد كوريا الشمالية.

صرحت وزارة الدفاع الوطني التايوانية أن مرور السفينتين تم كجزء من عملية حرية الملاحة.

صرحت جيسيكا لاميراندي ، المتحدثة باسم وزارة الدفاع الوطني الكندية ، لصحيفة غلوب أند ميل أن السبب الوحيد لإبحار السفن عبر المنطقة كان لأنه كان ببساطة "الطريق الأكثر عملية بين خليج كام رانه وشمال شرق آسيا."

وأشار لاميراندي إلى أن "العبور عبر مضيق تايوان لا علاقة له بالإدلاء بأي تصريح".

على الرغم من أن تايوان كانت دولة جزرية تتمتع بالحكم الذاتي منذ عام 1949 ، إلا أن الصين ترى البلاد كمقاطعة ضالة تحتاج إلى العودة إلى الحظيرة - حتى عن طريق القوة ، إذا لزم الأمر. ورفضت تايوان مرارا موقف الصين.

في الصين ، يجب على السفن التي تتطلع إلى المرور عبر المنطقة أن تطلب الإذن أولاً ، على الرغم من أن القانون الدولي يشير إلى أن المنطقة عبارة عن ممر مائي مفتوح. [في الواقع سبوتنيك مخطئ ، فالدولة التي تقع على جانبي المضيق قد تصر على عدم استخدامها إذا كان هناك طريق بديل.]

يأتي عبور السفن في وقت تتصاعد فيه التوترات بين الصين وكندا في الآونة الأخيرة اعتقال المدير المالي لشركة Huawei Meng Wanzhou وبعدها اعتقال اثنين من الكنديين في الصين.

على الرغم من أن Lamirande قال إن العبور لم يكن يهدف إلى إرسال رسالة إلى الصين ، إلا أن الخبراء يقفون على الحياد بشأن هذه المسألة.

قال ستيفن ناجي ، الأستاذ المساعد البارز في السياسة والدراسات الدولية في الجامعة المسيحية الدولية في طوكيو ، لموقع ستارز أند سترايبس العسكري في مقال نُشر يوم الخميس إن عبور مضيق تايوان "إشارات غير مباشرة للغاية" لرفض مزاعم الصين في المنطقة.

قال ناجي للمنافذ: "القوى الوسطى [مثل كندا] تدور حول تعزيز المؤسسات الدولية والقانون الدولي حتى تتمكن من كبح جماح قوة الدول الكبيرة جدًا". "إنهم يرون أن الصين ستشكل خطرا أكبر في المستقبل ، وعليهم إظهار بعض التصميم من خلال السفن في المنطقة."

وأضاف: "أعتقد أن الإبحار عبر المضيق التايواني هو جزء من توسع أوسع للأنشطة البحرية الكندية في المحيطين الهندي والهادئ".

وبالمثل ، قال جاي سان جاك ، السفير الكندي السابق لدى الصين ، لصحيفة جلوب آند ميل إن تحرك أوتاوا يمثل بداية "الموقف الكندي الجديد تجاه الصين".

قال سان جاك: "بدأت حكومة ترودو في تأكيد نفسها أكثر ، ومسائل مثل حرية الملاحة أسئلة مهمة". "إنه يرسل إشارة إلى أن كندا متحالفة مع الولايات المتحدة ومع دول أخرى مثل أستراليا وفرنسا التي أرسلت سفنًا إلى مضيق تايوان - أن حرية الملاحة مهمة وأننا لا نعترف بالمطالبات الصينية بالسيادة في هذا الجزء من العالم."

الولايات المتحدة ليست غريبة عن حرية الملاحة عبر مضيق تايوان. حقيقة، أجرت الولايات المتحدة واحدة كل شهر في 2019 ، باستثناء شهر يونيو. وحدث العبور الأخير في 22 مايو وشمل المدمرة يو إس إس بريبل من فئة أرلي بيرك وناقلة النفط البحرية يو إس إن إس والتر إس ديهل.

المصدر السبوتنيك قمر صناعي

إخطار
guest
5 التعليقات
أقدم
الأحدث معظم صوت
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

تعقيب

[...] ترودو يبحر بسفينة حربية عبر مضيق تايوان بينما يتوسل شي لمقابلته في مجموعة العشرين [...]

CHUCKMAN
منذ أشهر 5

إن عبور مضيق تايوان "إشارات غير مباشرة للغاية" على الرفض لمطالب الصين في المنطقة.
قال ناجي للمنافذ: "القوى الوسطى [مثل كندا] تدور حول تعزيز المؤسسات الدولية والقانون الدولي حتى تتمكن من كبح جماح قوة الدول الكبيرة جدًا". إنهم يرون أن الصين ستشكل خطرا أكبر في المستقبل ، وعليهم إظهار بعض التصميم من خلال السفن في المنطقة. ''

تصدمني كلمات البروفيسور ستيفن ناجي على أنها خادعة إلى حد ما ، ومعقولة ظاهريًا فقط كما هو الحال مع الكثير من المعلومات المضللة.

بعد كل شيء ، يعمل في "جامعة مسيحية" في آسيا ، وقد نُشرت كلماته لأول مرة على ذلك الموقع المتميز ، "Stars and Stripes" ، جهاز المنزل الداخلي القديم للقوات المسلحة الأمريكية.

للأسف ، من وجهة نظري ، تبذل كندا اليوم كل ما في وسعها لدعم الولايات المتحدة في الشؤون الخارجية. قد يكون ذلك على ما يرام إذا كانت السياسات فوق المستوى ولديها نوايا حسنة حقًا ، لكنها لا تتمتع بهذه الخصائص إلى حد كبير. بل على العكس تمامًا ، فهي تعكس جهود المؤسسة الأمريكية للسيطرة على العالم.

في ظل هذه الظروف ، ستكون كندا في وضع صعب إلى حد ما بغض النظر عن أي شيء ، حيث تشترك في واحدة من أطول حدود العالم ، ولا يوجد بها دول مجاورة أخرى ، وتتقاسم تجارة ضخمة في السلع والخدمات. لكنني لا أعتقد أن الأمر كان مختلفًا تمامًا بالنسبة لبيير ترودو ، والد جاستن ترودو ، الذي انتهز العديد من الفرص لمعارضة أسوأ السياسات الأمريكية في عصره بشكل سلمي.

تجاهل بيير ترودو سياسة واشنطن المريرة والمكثفة والعنيفة تجاه كوبا وعمل على إقامة علاقة حقيقية مع كاسترو. كان الاستثمار الكندي والسفر السياحي المنتظم نتائج إيجابية.

في ذروة المحرقة الأمريكية في فيتنام ، أخبر بيير ترودو أجهزة الحدود الكندية بفتح الأبواب أمام جميع مقاومي الحرب الأمريكيين من أي وصف ، حتى الفارين من الجيش. لقد فعلوا ذلك ، وجاء عشرات الآلاف من الشباب الأمريكيين ، وعاش الكثير منهم في النهاية حياة جيدة في كندا.

جوستين ببساطة غير قادر ، بطبيعته ، على اتخاذ خطوات جريئة مثل تلك. يتمتع بشخصية لطيفة ومتوافقة ، ويفتقر إلى حد كبير إلى أي قوة شخصية حقيقية. يبتسم كثيرا. يعتذر كثيرا. لا تفهموني خطأ ، فأنا لست ضد الابتسامات أو الاعتذارات المطلوبة ، ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بالقيادة ، فإن الأمر يتطلب المزيد. هذه الأشياء ليست سوى رغوة المشروب.

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، أن الحزب الليبرالي كان حريصًا جدًا على تشغيل جاستن وحاول على مدار فترة زمنية طويلة إقناعه بالقيام بذلك ، مع العلم أن اسمه الأخير كان حرفياً سحرًا في البلاد.

لكن جوستين ابتعد - باستثناء الابتسام وإقراض الدعم وحضور جمع التبرعات للحفلات ، فإن اسمه قادر دائمًا على بيع التذاكر. لقد بقي مع ما كان يفعله ، وأعتقد أنه ربما لأنه فهم بهدوء حدوده. ومع ذلك ، تم الوصول إلى هذه النقطة في الجزء الأخير من حكومة ستيفن هاربر عندما استسلم ترودو لجميع المرافعات والتلميحات وراء الكواليس.

لقد هزم بسهولة ستيفن هاربر ، وهو شخصية مظلمة وغير سارة إلى حد ما كان يتمتع بحكومة أقلية طويلة الأمد على وجه التحديد لأن الليبراليين قد تورطوا في القتال الداخلي والفضيحة. وقد مروا ببعض القادة الذين تم اختيارهم بشكل سيئ ، وأبرزهم الأكاديمي غير الكفؤ سياسياً ، مايكل إجناتيف ، الذي استدرجه الكشافة الموهوبون بالحزب من جامعة هارفارد معتقدًا أنه يمكن أن يجلب بريقًا جديدًا للعلامة التجارية الليبرالية. كما أثبتت الأحداث ، فعل العكس تمامًا.

من قيادة مجموعة ليما الأمريكية المصطنعة (للإطاحة بفنزويلا ، وفي المستقبل ، بعض حكومات أمريكا اللاتينية الأخرى) إلى مضايقة روسيا بالدبابات في إحدى دول البلطيق ومن امتثالها لطلب تسليم أمريكي لمواطن مهم من الصين في التهم الملفقة للإبحار عبر مضيق تايوان ، وضعت الحكومة الكندية الحالية سوابق غير سارة لحكومة الحزب الليبرالي.

حتى استهزاءات واشنطن غير المبررة ضد روسيا أو إيران أو الصين تردد صداها من قبل وزيرة خارجية ترودو البغيضة ، كريستيا فريلاند ، وإن كان ذلك بنبرة أكثر هدوءًا إلى حد ما من الخوار الذي يأتي من المتعصبين مثل بولتون وبومبيو ، لكن المحتوى الأساسي هو نفسه.

يبدو أن كندا تعانق بشدة السياسة الأمريكية في كل مكان ، وهو ما قد نتوقعه من حكومة حزب المحافظين ، وخاصة حزب المحافظين برئاسة رئيس الوزراء السابق ستيفن هاربر ، وهو رجل معروف بالتوافق مع كل ما هو يميني وأمريكي ، إلى حد كبير بما في ذلك المحافظين الجدد.

كانت التقاليد العظيمة التي أعطت كندا السمعة الدولية التي كانت تتمتع بها خلال معظم القرن العشرين من عمل القادة في الحزب الليبرالي.

شخصيات مثل ليستر بيرسون ، وبيير ترودو (والد رئيس الوزراء الحالي) ، وبول مارتن ، وغيرهم ، جاءوا جميعًا من الحزب الليبرالي. كان لدينا أيضًا بعض المحافظين المحترمين والمحترمين ، لكنهم اختفوا تقريبًا في حفلة هي من عمل ستيفن هاربر.

لقد ترك جاستن ترودو كرئيس للوزراء وكريستيا فريلاند كوزيرة خارجيته ، العضو في مجلس الوزراء الذي يعتمد عليه أكثر من غيره ، تلك التقاليد الكبيرة وراءه. تقريبا بشكل كامل.

أعتقد أن له علاقة كبيرة بحقيقة أن جاستن ليس رجلاً ذكيًا أو واسع الحيلة ، حيث كان عمله الكبير السابق مدرسًا لرياض الأطفال. على النقيض من ذلك ، كان والده ذكيًا حقًا ، ومتعلمًا تعليماً عالياً ، ولديه عقل يوصف بجدارة باليسوعي.

يعاني جاستن أيضًا من شخصية لطيفة إلى حد ما ، تحاول إرضاء الجميع. مرة أخرى ، على النقيض من ذلك ، كان والده شديد الاستقلالية الذهنية ، حيث قال ذات مرة للمازح ، "Mangez la merde!" وبمجرد تحدي شخص ما للتساؤل عما كان على وشك فعله ، "فقط شاهدني" يقدم جاستن الكثير من الاعتذار ويستخدم قدرًا كبيرًا من لغة اليوجا الألفي التي غالبًا ما تقول القليل جدًا من الجوهر.

أعتقد أن هذه الصفات في جاستن ترودو قد دفعته إلى الاعتماد بشدة على فريلاند. تم تصويره معها بعيدًا ، أكثر بكثير من أي وزير آخر في الحكومة.

إنها ذكية ولديها شخصية أكثر صرامة مما هي عليه (على الرغم من أن المرء يفتقر إلى أي بريق أو سحر) ، ومن هنا تبعيته.

لكن ، بالطبع ، كونك ذكيًا بمفردك لا ينقذ أي شخص من القيام بأشياء خاطئة أو غير لائقة.

القيم والنزاهة وقوة شخصية حقيقية معينة مطلوبة لتجنب ذلك. ما عليك سوى إلقاء نظرة على مايك بومبيو أو هيلاري كلينتون أو جورج بوش بيري أو ستيفن هاربر الكندي - كلهم ​​أذكياء.

هناك حاجة لشيء يشبه إلى حد ما ما أسماه فلوبير بالتعليم العاطفي ، وفريلاند تفتقر إليه تمامًا.

أجرت فريلاند المكالمات الخاطئة في كل ما فعلته تقريبًا ، مما أدى إلى جر ترودو إلى التداعيات. يعتبرها البعض بمثابة خزانة أمريكية جديدة ، وأنا أتفق مع هذا التقييم إلى حد كبير. حتى أن زوجها يكتب لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز ، وهي صحيفة وُصفت على نحو مناسب بأنها العضو المنزلي لمؤسسة القوة الأمريكية.

من المحتمل أن يكون تحيزها الواضح وغير المناسب والمناهض لروسيا ناتجًا عن نشأتها في التقاليد الكندية الأوكرانية ، والتي ، حسب تجربتي ، كانت ملوَّنة بشدة بالمواقف المتطرفة المعادية للسوفييت.

اليوم ، تؤيد كندا الإطاحة بحكومة منتخبة في أمريكا اللاتينية ، ولم تقل أبدًا كلمة انتقادية حقًا عن حكومة مروعة مثل حكومة المملكة العربية السعودية. بطبيعة الحال ، فإن ولي العهد هو المفضل لدى الأمريكيين المدللين لمساعدته السخية في مهمة نشر بركات الحرية في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط.

حتى إرث والد ترودو يتلاشى حيث خفضت كندا مؤخرًا الخدمات في سفارتها في كوبا بشأن وقت الإعلان عن القيود الأمريكية الجديدة ضد كوبا في واشنطن. تم تقديم العذر المثير للشفقة بأن بعض موظفي السفارة أصيبوا بأسلحة غير معروفة ، وهي وسيلة للتحايل توصلت إليها الولايات المتحدة قبل عامين ، وهي شيء لا علم له على الإطلاق.

لذلك ، كل شيء مخيب للآمال للغاية. بقدر ما يتعلق الأمر بالشؤون الخارجية ، قد يكون لدى كندا حكومة محافظة هاربيريت. لا أعرف ، ربما أصبحت الأمور في الداخل مع واشنطن أقسى بكثير مما كانت عليه في زمن بيير ترودو ، لكننا لا نرى أقل جهد في الفكر أو المبدأ المستقل من حكومتنا الليبرالية الحالية.

John C Carleton
جون سي كارلتون
منذ أشهر 5

"التنافر المعرفي ، الصراع العقلي الذي يحدث عندما تتعارض المعتقدات أو الافتراضات مع المعلومات الجديدة. يتم التخلص من القلق أو التوتر الذي يثيره الصراع لدى الناس من خلال إحدى المناورات الدفاعية العديدة: يرفضون المعلومات الجديدة أو يفسرونها أو يتجنبونها ؛ يقنعون أنفسهم بأنه لا يوجد صراع بالفعل ؛ التوفيق بين الاختلافات. أو اللجوء إلى أي وسيلة دفاعية أخرى للحفاظ على الاستقرار أو النظام في تصوراتهم عن العالم وعن أنفسهم. تم تطوير المفهوم في الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي من قبل عالم النفس الأمريكي ليون فيستينجر وأصبح نقطة رئيسية للمناقشة والبحث ".

jm74
jm74
منذ أشهر 5

كن مثيرًا للاهتمام إذا أبحرت الصين سفنها الحربية عبر مضيق باس الذي يفصل تسمانيا عن البر الرئيسي لأستراليا. أستراليا سوف تبكي أزرق القتل.

Canosin
كانوزين
منذ أشهر 5

أعتقد أن الأمر يتعلق بكندا… ..>

مكافحة الإمبراطورية

Trudeau Sails a Warship Through Taiwan Strait While Begging Xi to Meet With Him at G20

Trudeau demonstrates again precisely the behaviour that has caused the Chinese to decline communication with his government

If you’d rather be in America’s thrall than serve your own interests then serve yourself

Related: Justin Trudeau Has Been Trying to Get the Chinese to Take His Call Since January

Canada recently became the latest nation to sail a frigate through the Taiwan Strait, a move which government officials have indicated was not intended to be taken as Ottawa making a statement against China.

The HMCS Regina, one of 12 frigates operated by the Canadian navy, and the Naval Replenishment Unit Asterix sailed through the contested waterway on Tuesday after departing from Cam Ranh Bay in Vietnam.

Website Marine Traffic shows the frigate traveling from the South China Sea through the Taiwan Strait in the direction of the East China Sea. According to Navy Recognition, both the HMCS Regina and the Asterix are part of Operation NEON, a mission to ensure that UN sanctions against North Korea are being enforced.

Taiwan’s Ministry of National Defense has stated that the passage of both ships was carried out as part of a freedom of navigation operation.

Jessica Lamirande, spokesperson for Canada’s Department of National Defense, told the Globe and Mail that the only reason the ships sailed through the area was because it was simply “the most practical route between Cam Ranh Bay and Northeast Asia.”

“Transit through the Taiwan Strait is not related to making any statement,” Lamirande noted.

Although Taiwan has been a self-governing island nation since 1949, China sees the country as a wayward province needing to be brought back into the fold – even by means of force, if necessary. Taiwan has repeatedly rejected China’s stance.

Per China, ships looking to pass through the region should request permission first, despite the fact that international law indicates that the area is an open waterway. [Actually Sputnik is wrong, a country that is located on both sides of a strait may insist it not be used if an alternative route exists.]

The ships’ transit comes at a time when tensions between China and Canada are simmering over the recent arrest of Huawei CFO Meng Wanzhou and subsequent detainment of two Canadians in China.

Although Lamirande did say that the transit wasn’t meant to send a message to China, experts are on the fence regarding the matter.

Stephen Nagy, a senior associate professor of politics and international studies at International Christian University in Tokyo, told military website Stars and Stripes in an article published Thursday that Taiwan Strait transits are “very indirect signals” of disapproval toward China’s claims in the region.

“Middle powers [like Canada] are about bolstering international institutions and international law so they can restrain the power of very big countries,” Nagy told the outlet. “They view that China is going to present a bigger risk going forward, and they have to demonstrate some resolve through ships in the region.”

“I think sailing through the Taiwanese strait is part of a broader expansion of Canadian naval activities in the Indo-Pacific,” he added.

Similarly, Guy Saint-Jacques, a former Canadian ambassador to China, told the Globe and Mail that Ottawa’s move is the start of the “new Canadian position towards China.”

“The Trudeau government is starting to assert itself more, and questions like freedom of navigation are important ones,” Saint-Jacques said. “It sends the signal that Canada is aligning with the US and with other countries like Australia and France that have sent ships to the Taiwan Strait – that freedom of navigation is important and that we don’t recognize Chinese claims to sovereignty in that part of the world.”

The US is no stranger to freedom of navigation passages through the Taiwan Strait. In fact, the US has conducted one each month in 2019, except for the month of June. The most recent transit occurred on May 22 and involved the Arleigh Burke-class destroyer USS Preble and the Navy oil tanker USNS Walter S. Diehl.

Source: Sputnik

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
5 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

trackback

[…] Trudeau Sails a Warship Through Taiwan Strait While Begging Xi to Meet With Him at G20 […]

CHUCKMAN
11 months ago

‘Taiwan Strait transits are “very indirect signals” of disapproval toward China’s claims in the region.
‘“Middle powers [like Canada] are about bolstering international institutions and international law so they can restrain the power of very big countries,” Nagy told the outlet. “They view that China is going to present a bigger risk going forward, and they have to demonstrate some resolve through ships in the region.”’

Those words of Professor Stephen Nagy strike me as being rather deceptive, only superficially plausible as is the case for much disinformation.

After all, he does work at a “Christian university” in Asia, and his words were first published on that distinguished website, “Stars and Stripes,” the old internal house organ for the American armed forces.

Sadly, from my point of view, Canada today does everything possible to support the United States in foreign affairs. That might be okay if the policies were above board and had genuinely good intent, but they very much do not have those characteristics. Quite the opposite, they reflect the American establishment’s effort at dominating the globe.

Under such circumstances, Canada would be in a fairly hard place no matter what, sharing one of the world’s longest borders, having no other adjacent nations, and sharing a massive trade in goods and services. But I don’t think it was hugely different for Pierre Trudeau, Justin Trudeau’s father, who took many opportunities to oppose peaceably the worst American policies of his day.

Pierre Trudeau ignored Washington’s bitter, intense, and violent Cuba policy and worked to establish a genuine relationship with Castro. Canadian investment and regular tourist travel were positive results.

At the height of America’s holocaust in Vietnam, Pierre Trudeau told Canada’s border services to throw open the gates for all American war resisters of any description, even deserters. They did, and tens of thousands of young Americans came, many eventually making good lives in Canada.

Justin is simply not able, by his very nature, to take bold steps like those. He has a pleasant, go-along-to-get-along personality, actually pretty much lacking any real force of character. He smiles a lot. He apologizes a lot. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against smiles or needed apologies, but when it comes to leadership, a bit more is required. Those things are only the froth of the brew.

Interestingly, the Liberal Party was very keen on having Justin run and tried over a considerable period of time to persuade him to do so, knowing his last name literally was magic in the country.

But Justin shied away – except for smiling and lending support and attending party fund-raisers, his name always able to sell tickets. He stayed with what he was doing, and I believe perhaps because he quietly understood his own limits. However, the point was reached in the last part of Stephen Harper’s government when Trudeau gave in to all the behind-the-scenes pleadings and blandishments.

He did handily defeat Stephen Harper, a rather dark and unpleasant figure who enjoyed a long-running minority government precisely because the Liberals had become involved with in-fighting and scandal. And they went through some poorly-chosen leaders, most notably the politically-inept academic, Michael Ignatieff, who was lured by the Party’s talent scouts from Harvard University in the belief he could bring new luster to the Liberal brand. As events proved, he did quite the opposite.

From leading America’s contrived Lima Group (for the overthrow of Venezuela and, in future, some other Latin American governments) to harassing Russia with tanks in one of the Baltic states and from its compliance with an American extradition request for an important citizen of China on trumped-up charges to sailing through the Taiwan Strait, Canada’s current government has set unpleasant precedents for a Liberal Party government.

Even Washington’s unwarranted jibes against Russia or Iran or China are echoed by Trudeau’s disagreeable Foreign Minister, Chrystia Freeland, albeit in somewhat quieter tones than the bellowing that comes from blowhards like Bolton and Pompeo, but the essential content is the same.

Canada seems to be tightly hugging American policy everywhere, which is what we might expect from a Conservative Party government, and particularly the Conservative Party of former Prime Minister Stephen Harper, a man notoriously in line with all things right-wing and American, very much including its Neocons.

The great traditions which gave Canada the international reputation it enjoyed through much of the 20th century were largely the work of leaders in the Liberal Party.

Figures like Lester Pearson, Pierre Trudeau (father of the current Prime Minister), Paul Martin, and still others all came from the Liberal Party. We had some decent, respected Conservatives, too, but they have almost disappeared in a party which is the handiwork of Stephen Harper.

Justin Trudeau as Prime Minister and Chrystia Freeland as his Foreign Minister, the cabinet member he most depends upon, have left those large traditions behind. Almost entirely.

I think it has a great deal to do with the fact that Justin is not a terribly clever or resourceful man, his previous big job having been as a kindergarten teacher. His father, by contrast, was genuinely brilliant, highly educated, with a mind aptly described as Jesuitical.

Justin suffers also from a rather bland personality, one that tries pleasing everyone. Again, by contrast, his father was fiercely independent-minded, once telling a heckler, “Mangez la merde!” and once challenging someone questioning what he was about to do with, “Just watch me.” Justin does a lot of apologizing and uses a great deal of Millennialist yoga-land language that often says very little of substance.

I believe those qualities in Justin Trudeau have caused him to lean heavily upon Freeland. He is photographed with her far, far more than with any other cabinet minister.

She is smart and has a much tougher personality than he does (although one lacking almost any sparkle or charm), hence his dependence.

But, of course, being smart alone does not save anyone from doing wrong or inappropriate things.

Values, integrity and a certain genuine force of character are required to avoid that. Just look at Mike Pompeo or Hillary Clinton or George Bush pere or Canada’s Stephen Harper – smart people all of them.

There is a need for something a little resembling what Flaubert called a sentimental education, and Freeland completely lacks it.

Freeland has made the wrong calls in almost everything she’s done, dragging Trudeau into the fallout. She is regarded by some as a closet American Neocon, and I pretty much agree with that assessment. Her husband even writes for the New York Times, a paper that has been aptly described as the house organ for America’s power establishment.

Her obvious, and inappropriate, anti-Russian prejudice likely comes from being brought up in Ukrainian-Canadian traditions, which, in my experience, were heavily colored by extreme anti-Soviet attitudes.

Today, Canada supports the overthrow of an elected government in Latin America, and never says a truly critical word about such an appalling government as that of Saudi Arabia. Of course, the Crown Prince is a pampered American favorite for his generous help in the task of spreading the blessings of freedom throughout the Middle East.

Even the legacy of Trudeau’s father is fading as Canada recently reduced services at its embassy in Cuba about the time of new American restrictions against Cuba being announced in Washington. The pathetic excuse was offered that some embassy employees had been hurt by unknown “sonic weapons,” a gimmick the United States came up with a couple of years ago, something with absolutely no science to it.

So, it is all quite disappointing. As far as foreign affairs are concerned, Canada might just as well have a Harperite Conservative government. I don’t know, maybe things on the inside with Washington have become a great deal harsher than they were in Pierre Trudeau’s time, but we see not the least effort at independent thought or principle from our present Liberal government.

John C Carleton
John C Carleton
11 months ago

“Cognitive dissonance, the mental conflict that occurs when beliefs or assumptions are contradicted by new information. The unease or tension that the conflict arouses in people is relieved by one of several defensive maneuvers: they reject, explain away, or avoid the new information; persuade themselves that no conflict really exists; reconcile the differences; or resort to any other defensive means of preserving stability or order in their conceptions of the world and of themselves. The concept was developed in the 1950s by American psychologist Leon Festinger and became a major point of discussion and research.”

jm74
jm74
11 months ago

Be interesting if China sails its’ war ships through Bass Strait that separates Tasmania from mainland Australia. Australia would be crying blue murder.

Canosin
Canosin
11 months ago

I believe it’s about Canada….. >

Anti-Empire