كشفت وثائق جديدة أن أفضل جنرال أمريكي في فيتنام نظر في استخدام الأسلحة النووية أثناء حصار خي سانه

كان ويستمورلاند سيستخدم القنابل النووية التكتيكية قبل أن يعترف بالهزيمة. قام LBJ بإغلاقه

بعد ستة أشهر ، تم التخلي عن Khe Sanh من قبل الأمريكيين وتركها إلى NVA

في واحدة من أحلك لحظات حرب فيتنام ، قام القائد العسكري الأمريكي الأعلى في سايغون بتنشيط خطة في عام 1968 لنقل الأسلحة النووية إلى جنوب فيتنام حتى تم نقضه من قبل الرئيس ليندون جونسون ، وفقًا لوثائق رفعت عنها السرية مؤخرًا تم الاستشهاد بها في تاريخ جديد من القرارات الرئاسية في زمن الحرب.

تكشف الوثائق عن مجموعة من الاستعدادات السرية منذ فترة طويلة من قبل القائد ، الجنرال ويليام سي ويستمورلاند، للحصول على أسلحة نووية في متناول اليد هل يجب أن تجد القوات الأمريكية نفسها على شفا الهزيمة في خي سانه ، إحدى أعنف معارك الحرب.

بموافقة القائد الأمريكي في المحيط الهادئ ، أعد الجنرال ويستمورلاند عملية سرية ، كسر الفك المسمى رمز ، التي تضمنت نقل الأسلحة النووية إلى جنوب فيتنام بحيث يمكن استخدامها في وقت قصير ضد القوات الفيتنامية الشمالية.

ونبّه مستشار جونسون للأمن القومي ، والت روستو ، الرئيس في مذكرة عن قرطاسية البيت الأبيض.

رفض الرئيس الخطة وأمر بتحويلها ، وفقًا لتوم جونسون ، الذي كان حينها مساعدًا خاصًا شابًا للرئيس ومدونًا للملاحظات في الاجتماعات المتعلقة بالموضوع ، والتي عقدت في غرفة طعام الأسرة في الطابق الثاني من البيت الأبيض.

"عندما علم أن التخطيط قد بدأ ، كان منزعجًا بشكل غير عادي وأرسلت كلمة بقوة عبر روستو ، وأعتقد مباشرة إلى ويستمورلاند ، لإغلاقها ، "قال السيد جونسون في مقابلة.

وقال إن خوف الرئيس هو "حرب أوسع" يدخل فيها الصينيون المعركة ، كما حدث في كوريا عام 1950.

قال جونسون ، الذي لا علاقة له بالرئيس ، "لم يثق جونسون مطلقًا تمامًا بجنرالاته". "كان لديه إعجاب كبير بالجنرال ويستمورلاند ، لكنه لم يكن يريد لجنرالاته أن يديروا الحرب."

الشيء الجيد الوحيد الذي فعله LBJ

لو تم استخدام الأسلحة ، لكانت قد أضافت إلى أهوال واحدة من أكثر السنوات صخبًا وعنفًا في التاريخ الأمريكي الحديث. أعلن جونسون بعد أسابيع أنه لن يرشح نفسه لإعادة انتخابه. تم اغتيال القس الدكتور مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور وروبرت ف. كينيدي بعد ذلك بوقت قصير.

قصة مدى اقتراب الولايات المتحدة من الوصول إلى أسلحة نووية في فيتنام ، بعد 23 عامًا من القصف الذري لهيروشيما وناغازاكي الذي أجبر اليابان على الاستسلام ، يرد في "رؤساء الحرب" ، وهو كتاب قادم من تأليف مايكل بيشلوس ، الرئيس. مؤرخ.

قال السيد بيشلوس ، الذي عثر على الوثائق أثناء بحثه عن الكتاب: "لقد ارتكب جونسون بالتأكيد أخطاء جسيمة في شن حرب فيتنام". "لكن علينا أن نشكره على التأكد من أنه لم تكن هناك فرصة في أوائل عام 1968 لهذا الصراع المأساوي أن يصبح نوويًا."

تشير الوثائق الجديدة - التي تم رفع السرية عن بعضها بهدوء قبل عامين - إلى أنها كانت تتحرك في هذا الاتجاه.

مع اقتراب معركة خي سانه ، ضغط جونسون على قادته للتأكد من أن الولايات المتحدة لم تتعرض لهزيمة محرجة - كانت ستثبت أنها كارثة سياسية وإذلال شخصي.

كانت القوات الفيتنامية الشمالية تستخدم كل ما لديها ضد فوجين من مشاة البحرية الأمريكية وعدد صغير نسبيًا من القوات الفيتنامية الجنوبية.


أثناء التعبير علنًا عن ثقته في نتيجة المعركة في Khe Sanh ، كان الجنرال Westmoreland ينظم أيضًا بشكل خاص مجموعة للاجتماع في أوكيناوا للتخطيط لكيفية نقل الأسلحة النووية إلى الجنوب - وكيف يمكن استخدامها ضد القوات الفيتنامية الشمالية.

كتب الجنرال ويستمورلاند إلى الأدميرال أوليسيس جرانت شارب جونيور ، القائد الأمريكي في المحيط الهادئ ، في 10 فبراير 1968. "تمت الموافقة على Oplan Fracture Jaw من قبلي" (تم تسمية الأدميرال على اسم جنرال الحرب الأهلية و الرئيس الذي كان متزوجًا من جد.)

الخطة لم تدم طويلا.

في ذلك اليوم ، أرسل السيد روستو مذكرة "عيون فقط" إلى الرئيس ، وهي الثانية خلال أسبوع يحذر فيها من الخطة الوشيكة.

بعد يومين ، أرسل الأدميرال شارب أمرًا "بوقف كل التخطيط لكسر فك الفك" ووضع جميع مواد التخطيط ، "بما في ذلك الرسائل والمراسلات المتعلقة بها ، تحت حماية إيجابية".

الحادث له أصداء في العصر الحديث. قبل 14 شهرًا فقط كان الرئيس ترامب يهدد باستخدام الأسلحة النووية ضد كوريا الشمالية - التي ، على عكس فيتنام الشمالية في ذلك الوقت ، تمتلك ترسانتها النووية الصغيرة.

كانت هناك لحظات أخرى كان على الرؤساء أن يفكروا فيها أو يخدعوا في استخدام الأسلحة الذرية. كانت أشهرها أزمة الصواريخ الكوبية في عام 1962 ، وهي الأقرب إلى أزمة نووية بين الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد السوفيتي.

وقبل إقالته في عام 1951 من قبل الرئيس هاري إس ترومان ، استكشف الجنرال دوغلاس ماك آرثر مع رؤسائه استخدام الأسلحة النووية في الحرب الكورية. كان ترومان يخشى أن تؤدي استراتيجية ماك آرثر العدوانية إلى اندلاع حرب أكبر مع الصين ، ولكن في مرحلة ما نقل الرؤوس الحربية الذرية إلى قواعد في المحيط الهادئ ، ولكن ليس إلى كوريا نفسها.

وتظهر الوثائق أن قضية خي سان كانت مختلفة.

"في كوريا ، لم يوجه ماك آرثر نداءً مباشرًا لنقل الأسلحة النووية إلى المسرح على الفور تقريبًا ،" قال بيشلوس إنه عندما بدا أن كوريا الجنوبية قد تسقط في أيدي كوريا الشمالية عام 1950. "لكن في فيتنام ، كان ويستمورلاند يضغط على الرئيس للقيام بذلك بالضبط."

تم الكشف عن جدية تلك المناقشة في برقية مطولة حول معركة خي سانه أرسلها الجنرال ويستمورلاند إلى رئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة ، الجنرال إيرل ويلر ، في 3 فبراير ، 1968.

كتب الجنرال ويستمورلاند: "إذا تغير الوضع في المنطقة المجردة من السلاح بشكل كبير ، يجب أن نكون مستعدين لإدخال أسلحة ذات فعالية أكبر ضد القوات المحشودة" في برقية رفعت عنها السرية في عام 2014 لكنها لم تظهر حتى استشهد بها السيد بيشلوس في كتابه القادم.

"في ظل هذه الظروف ، أتصور أن الأسلحة النووية التكتيكية أو العوامل الكيميائية ستكون مرشحين نشطين للتوظيف."

في غضون أربعة أيام ، كتب الأدميرال شارب ، قائد منطقة المحيط الهادئ ، أنه "تم إطلاعه على خطة الطوارئ لاستخدام الأسلحة النووية التكتيكية في منطقة خي سان / المنطقة المجردة من السلاح" التي تمت صياغتها من قبل أعضاء فريق العمل لدينا الأسبوع الماضي في أوكيناوا.

أعلن أنها "سليمة من الناحية المفاهيمية" مع بعض التعديلات الطفيفة ، وطلب خطة كاملة ليتم إرسالها إليه "على وجه السرعة حتى يمكن وضع الخطط الداعمة اللازمة."

بعد ثلاثة أيام ، رد الجنرال ويستمورلاند بأنه وافق على الخطة. في البيت الأبيض ، قال السيد روستو للرئيس: "لا توجد أسلحة نووية في جنوب فيتنام. ستكون هناك حاجة إلى سلطة رئاسية لوضعهم هناك ".

أدى هذا الإخطار إلى اندلاع الرئيس الغاضب ، وفي غضون أيام ، أمر الأدميرال شارب ، الذي كان حريصًا جدًا على تطوير الخطط ، بالإغلاق.

"أوقف كل التخطيط لكسر الفك" ، أمر في 12 فبراير 1968 ، برقية إلى الجنرال ويستمورلاند ، مع نسخ إلى هيئة الأركان المشتركة. "قم باستخلاص المعلومات من جميع الموظفين الذين لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى مشروع التخطيط هذا أنه لا يمكن الكشف عن محتوى الخطة أو معرفة أن هذا التخطيط إما قيد التنفيذ أو معلق."

لم يكن أي من هذا معروفًا لقوات المارينز الأمريكية والجنود الآخرين الذين تم قصفهم في خي سانه.

"لا أتذكر أي نقاش حول الأسلحة الذرية على الأرض في Khe Sanh ،" لويس إم. سيمونز ، الذي كان حينها مراسلًا في وكالة Associated Press على الأرض مع القوات ، ولاحقًا صحفي حائز على جائزة بوليتزر عمل في صحيفة The Washington Post وجرائد نايت رايدر.

ويبحث كتاب السيد بيشلوس ، الذي ستنشره شركة كراون الثلاثاء ، التحديات التي تواجه الرؤساء من توماس جيفرسون إلى جورج دبليو بوش. كما يكشف أنه في نفس الوقت الذي كان فيه النقاش النووي جاريًا ، كان أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ غاضبين عندما اكتشفوا أن الرئيس ومساعديه قد ضللوا لهم بشأن التقدم في حرب فيتنام.

قال رئيس لجنة العلاقات الخارجية في مجلس الشيوخ ، جي. وليام فولبرايت ، ديمقراطي من أركنساس ، لزملائه في مجلس الشيوخ "لقد كذبنا بشكل واضح" ، وأن الكذب يعني أن الولايات المتحدة قد فقدت "شكلاً من أشكال الديمقراطية". وفقًا لنصوص الدرجات التي حصل عليها السيد بيشلوس ، وهو مساهم دائم في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز.

حتى أنه كان هناك نقاش حول إمكانية عزل الرئيس بسبب تلك الأكاذيب. تم إنهاء تلك المناقشة بقرار جونسون ، الذي أُعلن في وقت لاحق من ذلك الربيع ، بعدم السعي لإعادة انتخابه.

المصدر نيو يورك تايمز

إخطار
guest
3 التعليقات
أقدم
الأحدث معظم صوت
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

CHUCKMAN
منذ أشهر 4

هذا مثير للاهتمام ولكنه ليس اكتشافًا جديدًا كبيرًا.

نعلم أن نيكسون وكيسنجر ناقشا إمكانية استخدام القنابل النووية على طريق هو تشي مينه.

وضع البنتاغون ، في نقاط مختلفة ، خططًا لشن ضربات نووية واسعة النطاق على روسيا والصين.

في الواقع ، في أوائل الستينيات من القرن الماضي ، حضر كينيدي إحاطة للبنتاغون بشأن خطة الضربة الأولى الجديدة ضد روسيا. أخبر كينيدي أحد زملائه أنه غادر الاجتماع وهو يشعر بالمرض.

كان من بين الرجال في البنتاغون بعض المجانين المخيفين مثل الجنرال كيرتس ليماي الذي خطط وأدار حملة القصف الناري الهائلة للمدن اليابانية ، عملية الجوع ، شيء فظيع مثل أي هجوم نووي.

ولا تنسى قصف أمريكا لكوريا الشمالية لمدة ثلاث سنوات. قُتل حرفيًا خمس سكان كوريا الشمالية بالكامل ، وجاء هذا الرقم من جنرال في البنتاغون.

كان هذا هو الدافع الرئيسي لكوريا الشمالية لتطوير أسلحة نووية. "لن يحدث مطلقا مرة اخري." ولكن في الدعاية الأمريكية ، يتم تصوير الكوريين الشماليين دائمًا على أنهم مجانين متوحشين.

نفس النهج البشع سوف يتكرر لإرهاب المدنيين في فيتنام. كانت القصف بالسجاد مرعبة بالفعل ، وقد أخبرنا الناجون أنها كانت أكثر الأحداث رعباً على الإطلاق. قتلوا بأمر ثلاثة ملايين شخص ، معظمهم من المدنيين.

كانت أمريكا أكثر وحشية بكثير في حروبها الاستعمارية بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية مما أخشى أن يدركه معظم الأمريكيين على الإطلاق ، وبالنسبة لنوع المرضى النفسيين العسكريين الذين ارتكبوا بعض هذه الفظائع ، فإن الأسلحة النووية ليست سوى نوع آخر من القنابل.

بالمناسبة ، فإن استخدام أمريكا المتزايد باستمرار للقصف منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية ، غالبًا بدلاً من قواتها الخاصة ، غير وجه الحرب. الآن ، في كل واحدة من هذه الحروب ، قتل عدد هائل من المدنيين أكثر من الجنود. في الواقع ، غالبًا ما توظف أمريكا الآن وكلاء على الأرض ، بدلاً من قواتها الخاصة ، بينما يتم تسوية المكان بالقاذفات.

Undecider
غير مقرّر
منذ أشهر 4

أعتقد أن Wastemoreland لم تحصل على مذكرة مفادها أن الأسلحة النووية كانت خدعة. كان مشروع مانهاتن الحقيقي هو بناء كذبة.

Garry Compton
جاري كومبتون
منذ أشهر 4

وفقًا للرجال السريين ، تم استخدام الأسلحة النووية الصغيرة في الشرق الأوسط - وهذا هو السبب في وجود عدد قليل من الصحفيين المسموح لهم في مناطق العمليات الأمريكية والإسرائيلية ، ولماذا جميع الصحفيين لديهم ثمن على رؤوسهم من قبل جيوشهم بالوكالة - داعش والقاعدة و النصرة ، التي قتلت 50 إلى 100 صحفي ومصور ، إلخ حتى الآن. يا نام هناك - ليس هناك فرق كبير بين الأسلحة النووية والعامل البرتقالي - على المدى الطويل.

مكافحة الإمبراطورية

The Top American General in Vietnam Considered Using Nukes During the Siege of Khe Sanh, New Documents Reveal

Westmoreland would have used tactical nukes before he admitted defeat. LBJ shut him down

After six months Khe Sanh was abandoned by the Americans and left to the NVA

In one of the darkest moments of the Vietnam War, the top American military commander in Saigon activated a plan in 1968 to move nuclear weapons to South Vietnam until he was overruled by President Lyndon B. Johnson, according to recently declassified documents cited in a new history of wartime presidential decisions.

The documents reveal a long-secret set of preparations by the commander, Gen. William C. Westmoreland, to have nuclear weapons at hand should American forces find themselves on the brink of defeat at Khe Sanh, one of the fiercest battles of the war.

With the approval of the American commander in the Pacific, General Westmoreland had put together a secret operation, code-named Fracture Jaw, that included moving nuclear weapons into South Vietnam so that they could be used on short notice against North Vietnamese troops.

Johnson’s national security adviser, Walt W. Rostow, alerted the president in a memorandum on White House stationery.

The president rejected the plan, and ordered a turnaround, according to Tom Johnson, then a young special assistant to the president and note-taker at the meetings on the issue, which were held in the family dining room on the second floor of the White House.

“When he learned that the planning had been set in motion, he was extraordinarily upset and forcefully sent word through Rostow, and I think directly to Westmoreland, to shut it down,” Mr. Johnson said in an interview.

He said the president’s fear was “a wider war” in which the Chinese would enter the fray, as they had in Korea in 1950.

“Johnson never fully trusted his generals,” said Mr. Johnson, who is of no relation to the president. “He had great admiration for General Westmoreland, but he didn’t want his generals to run the war.”

The one good thing LBJ did

Had the weapons been used, it would have added to the horrors of one of the most tumultuous and violent years in modern American history. Johnson announced weeks later that he would not run for re-election. The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert F. Kennedy were assassinated shortly thereafter.

The story of how close the United States came to reaching for nuclear weapons in Vietnam, 23 years after the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki forced Japan to surrender, is contained in “Presidents of War,” a coming book by Michael Beschloss, the presidential historian.

“Johnson certainly made serious mistakes in waging the Vietnam War,” said Mr. Beschloss, who found the documents during his research for the book. “But we have to thank him for making sure that there was no chance in early 1968 of that tragic conflict going nuclear.”

The new documents — some of which were quietly declassified two years ago — suggest it was moving in that direction.

With the Khe Sanh battle on the horizon, Johnson pressed his commanders to make sure the United States did not suffer an embarrassing defeat — one that would have proved to be a political disaster and a personal humiliation.

The North Vietnamese forces were using everything they had against two regiments of United States Marines and a comparatively small number of South Vietnamese troops.


While publicly expressing confidence in the outcome of the battle at Khe Sanh, General Westmoreland was also privately organizing a group to meet in Okinawa to plan how to move nuclear weapons into the South — and how they might be used against the North Vietnamese forces.

“Oplan Fracture Jaw has been approved by me,” General Westmoreland wrote to Adm. Ulysses S. Grant Sharp Jr., the American commander in the Pacific, on Feb. 10, 1968. (The admiral was named for the Civil War general and president, who was married to an ancestor.)

The plan did not last long.

That day, Mr. Rostow sent an “eyes only” memorandum to the president, his second in a week warning of the impending plan.

Two days later, Admiral Sharp sent an order to “discontinue all planning for Fracture Jaw” and to place all the planning material, “including messages and correspondence relating thereto, under positive security.”

The incident has echoes for modern times. It was only 14 months ago that President Trump was threatening the use of nuclear weapons against North Korea — which, unlike North Vietnam at the time, possesses its own small nuclear arsenal.

There have been other moments when presidents had to consider, or bluff about, using atomic weapons. The most famous was the Cuban missile crisis in 1962, the closest that the United States and the Soviet Union came to nuclear conflict.

And before he was dismissed in 1951 by President Harry S. Truman, Gen. Douglas MacArthur explored with his superiors the use of nuclear weapons in the Korean War. Truman had feared that MacArthur’s aggressive strategy would set off a larger war with China, but at one point did move atomic warheads to bases in the Pacific, though not to Korea itself.

But the case of Khe Sanh was different, the documents show.

“In Korea, MacArthur did not make a direct appeal to move nuclear weapons into the theater almost immediately,” when it appeared that South Korea might fall to the North’s invasion in 1950, Mr. Beschloss said. “But in Vietnam, Westmoreland was pressuring the president to do exactly that.”

The seriousness of that discussion was revealed in a lengthy cable about the Khe Sanh battle that General Westmoreland sent to the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Gen. Earle Wheeler, on Feb. 3, 1968.

“Should the situation in the DMZ area change dramatically, we should be prepared to introduce weapons of greater effectiveness against massed forces,” General Westmoreland wrote in a cable that was declassified in 2014 but did not come to light until Mr. Beschloss cited it in his forthcoming book.

“Under such circumstances, I visualize that either tactical nuclear weapons or chemical agents would be active candidates for employment.”

Within four days, Admiral Sharp, the Pacific commander, wrote that he had “been briefed on the contingency plan for the employement of tactical nuclear weapons in the Khe Sanh/DMZ area which was drafted by members of our respective staffs last week in Okinawa.’’

He declared it “conceptually sound” with some minor alterations, and asked for a full plan to be forwarded to him “on an expedited basis so that the necessary supporting plans can be drawn up.”

Three days later, General Westmoreland wrote back that he had approved the plan. At the White House, Mr. Rostow noted to the president: “There are no nuclear weapons in South Vietnam. Presidential authority would be required to put them there.”

That notification led to the president’s angry eruption, and within days Admiral Sharp, once so eager to develop the plans, ordered a shutdown.

“Discontinue all planning for Fracture Jaw,” he commanded in a Feb. 12, 1968, cable to General Westmoreland, with copies to the Joint Chiefs. “Debrief all personnel with access to this planning project that there can be no disclosure of the content of the plan or knowledge that such planning was either underway or suspended.”

None of this was known to the American Marines and other soldiers who were being shelled at Khe Sanh.

“I don’t remember any discussion of atomic weapons on the ground at Khe Sanh,” Lewis M. Simons, then an Associated Press reporter on the ground with the troops, and later a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter who worked at The Washington Post and Knight Ridder newspapers.

Mr. Beschloss’s book, which will be published on Tuesday by Crown, examines challenges facing presidents from Thomas Jefferson to George W. Bush. It also reveals that at the same time the nuclear debate was underway, senators were outraged to discover that the president and his aides had misled them about progress in the Vietnam War.

The chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, J. William Fulbright, Democrat of Arkansas, told his fellow senators that “we were just plain lied to,” and that the lying meant that the United States had lost “a form of democracy,” according to transcripts obtained by Mr. Beschloss, who is a frequent contributor to The New York Times.

There was even discussion of the possibility of impeaching the president for those lies. That discussion was terminated by Johnson’s decision, announced later that spring, not to seek re-election.

Source: The New York Times

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

CHUCKMAN
9 months ago

This is interesting but not exactly a big new discovery.

We know Nixon and Kissinger discussed the possibility of using nukes on the Ho Chi Minh Trail.

The Pentagon, at various points, generated plans for massive nuclear strikes on Russia and China.

Indeed, in the early 1960s, Kennedy attended a Pentagon briefing for their new first-strike plan against Russia. Kennedy told an associate he left the meeting feeling sick.

The men in the Pentagon included some frightening maniacs like General Curtis LeMay who had planned and run the massive fire-bombing campaign of Japanese cities, Operation Starvation, something every bit as terrible as any nuclear attack.

And don’t forget America’s three-year carpet bombing of North Korea. Literally one-fifth of the entire North Korean population was killed, and that figure came from a Pentagon general.

That was North Korea’s chief motive for developing nuclear weapons. “Never again.” But in American propaganda it is the North Koreans always portrayed as savage maniacs.

The same hideous approach would be repeated to terrify the civilians of Vietnam. The carpet bombings were indeed terrifying, survivors having told us they were the most feared events of all. They killed on the order of three million people, mostly civilians.

America has been far more brutal in its post-WWII colonial wars than I’m afraid most Americans are at all aware, and for the kind of military psychopaths who carried out some of these atrocities, nukes are just another kind of bomb.

By the way, America’s ever-increasing use of bombing since WWII, often instead of their own troops, changed the face of war. Now, in every one of these wars, immensely more civilians are killed than soldiers. Indeed, America now often employs proxies on the ground, instead of its own troops, while the place is flattened by bombers.

Undecider
Undecider
9 months ago

I guess Wastemoreland didn’t get the memo that nukes were a hoax. The real Manhattan Project was the construction of a lie.

Garry Compton
Garry Compton
9 months ago

According to the clandestine guys, mini nukes have been used in the ME – this is why there are few journalists allowed in US and Israeli operations areas.And why all journalist have a price on their heads by their proxy armies – Isis, al Qaeda and al Nusra, which have killed 50 -100 journalists, photographers, etc. so far. Ya – Nam been there – not much difference between nukes and Agent orange – in the long run.

Anti-Empire