رهان روسيا الكبير على الذهب يؤتي ثماره

هذه ليست سوى البداية؛ السماء هي الحد الأقصى للذهب عندما ينفجر الدولار

لسنوات ، كانت روسيا أكبر خلل في الذهب في العالم: حتى عندما كانت أسعار الذهب في حالة ركود ، استمرت بإصرار في زيادة احتياطياتها. الآن بعد أن وصل الذهب إلى أعلى مستوى منذ 2013 ، يبدو أن التكتيك يؤتي ثماره.

يُعتقد عمومًا أن هيمنة الدولار الأمريكي كعملة احتياطية عالمية ناتجة عن ندرة الأصول الآمنة. ومع ذلك ، قدمت روسيا مؤخرًا مثالًا على كيف يمكن لاقتصاد كبير يمتلك خامس أكبر احتياطيات دولية في العالم أن يقلل الأصول الدولارية ولا يزال يعمل بشكل جيد. حتى الآن ، ليس لديها الكثير من المتابعين ، لكن شراء الذهب من قبل البنوك المركزية آخذ في الارتفاع.

منذ أن تعرضت للعقوبات بسبب عدوانها على أوكرانيا في عام 2014 ، كان لدى روسيا أسباب وجيهة لإعادة التفكير في تكوين احتياطيها الدولي. [في الواقع ، تعود استراتيجية شراء الذهب في روسيا إلى الوراء.] في حين أن الاتحاد الأوروبي لم يشدد عقوباته منذ ما يقرب من خمس سنوات ، فإن الولايات المتحدة كانت تفعل ذلك طوال الوقت.

يعتبر الكرملين وبنك روسيا أن خطر فرض المزيد من القيود لا يمكن التنبؤ به ويعتمدان على السياسة الداخلية للولايات المتحدة أكثر من أي شيء تفعله روسيا. في الأشهر الـ 12 منذ نهاية سبتمبر 2017 ، كان لدى البنك المركزي أكثر من النصف وارتفعت حصة الدولار في أصوله الدولية بشكل حاد وسهمي اليورو والرينمينبي.

تظهر هذه البيانات ، وهي الأحدث المتاحة من البنك المركزي ، أن حصة الذهب تنخفض قليلاً ، على الرغم من روسيا وأضاف وصل 274 طنًا متريًا من المعدن إلى احتياطياته في عام 2018 ، ليصل إجمالي احتياطياته إلى 2,113،12 طنًا. ويرجع ذلك إلى زيادة الأصول الأخرى أيضًا مع سعي روسيا إلى عزل نفسها عن الضغوط الغربية - ولأن سعر الذهب انخفض في تلك الأشهر الـ 7 بنسبة XNUMX٪ تقريبًا.

بشكل عام ، على الرغم من لقد برر أداء سوق المعدن ، في الغالب ، ثقة روسيا العنيدة فيه. 

و so حتى الآن هذا الشهر ، حيث ارتفع سعر الذهب بنحو 7٪ ، فقد أضاف حوالي 7 مليارات دولار إلى الاحتياطيات الدولية لروسيا. (بافتراض عدم وجود مشتريات جديدة منذ نهاية الربع الأول من عام 2019).

إذا استمرت الزيادة في الأسعار ، فسيشكل الذهب حوالي 20٪ من احتياطيات روسيا الدولية البالغة نصف تريليون دولار ، وهو ما يقترب من حصة الدولار. 

يبقى الدولار بالطبع هو العالم أكبر العملة الاحتياطية والذهب والعملات الأخرى لا تحل محلها تمامًا في جميع أنحاء العالم. ولكن بعد ذلك ، لاحظ مجلس الذهب العالمي اتجاهًا تصاعديًا في مشتريات الذهب الصافي من قبل البنوك المركزية والذي يتجاوز الجهود الروسية - حتى من خلال روسيا تظل أكبر مشتر. في الربع الأول من عام 2019 ، اشترت البنوك المركزية كمية قياسية من الذهب ، 715.7 طنًا متريًا.

لدى الصين مشاكلها الخاصة مع الولايات المتحدة والدولار. بينما هو لا يمكن أن تقطع أصولها الدولارية الهائلة بشكل حاسم مثل خفضت روسيا لأصولها الأصغر ، فقد ذهبت لتخفيض تدريجي. وقد أظهر اهتمامًا متزايدًا بالذهب.

ومن بين المشترين البارزين الآخرين للذهب تركيا والهند - الأخيرة ، مثل الصين وروسيا ، عضو في قائمة أفضل 10 دول في العالم من حيث الاحتياطيات الدولية.

إن أسعار الفائدة المنخفضة في الولايات المتحدة ، وقدرة إدارة ترامب القتالية التي لا يمكن التنبؤ بها ، والرغبة الشديدة للديون ، وعدم الاستقرار الجيوسياسي ، تجعل الذهب يبدو كأصل أكثر أمانًا من أدوات الدين الأمريكية بعد ذلك ببضع سنوات ، ومن المحتمل أن يتم تنظيم الاحتياطيات الدولية في المزيد من البلدان مثل روسيا.

تحرك نظام الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين أولاً بين كبار مالكي الاحتياطيات للتخلص التدريجي من الدولار لأنه كان لديه أكبر أسباب الخوف من الولايات المتحدة.يجب على الإدارات الأمريكية الحالية والمستقبلية أن تخطو بحذر لتجنب إعطاء حوافز مماثلة للآخرين للتخلص من عادتهم الدولارية واتباع مثال الكرملين. . في حين أن الإدارة الاقتصادية الروسية بشكل عام تترك الكثير مما هو مرغوب فيه ، إن نهج الدولة في بناء الاحتياطيات الدولية يبدو أكثر فأكثر بصيرة.

المصدر بلومبرغ

إخطار
guest
3 التعليقات
أقدم
الأحدث معظم صوت
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

thomas malthaus
توماس مالتوس
منذ أشهر 4

https://www.armscontrol.org/act/2019-07/focus/boltons-attempt-sabotage-new-start?source=focus

على الرغم من أنني لست متأكدًا دائمًا من أين يأتي بولتون ، فمنذ دخوله إلى WH كمستشار للأمن القومي ، أصبح العالم مكانًا أكثر خطورة. هذا يذهب دون تعداد النقاط.

من المحتمل أن يكون قد لعب دورًا غير مباشر في المسائل الاقتصادية الأجنبية مما أدى إلى قيام الدول باتباع نظام إزالة الدولرة الذي لم يتم التعرف على آثاره بالكامل بعد.

عندما يفكر أردوغان ومودي وغيرهما من قادة العالم في S-400 وأنظمة الأسلحة الروسية الأخرى ، فإنهم على الأرجح يشكرون السيد بوتين ويشعلون بولتون في نفس الوقت.

لم أفكر أبدًا حتى الآن أن التجارة العالمية للولايات المتحدة أصبحت وجودية بحيث تعتمد على دوافع الفرد وأفعاله التي قد تعرض الاقتصاد للخطر لجيل وربما بعده.

Canosin
كانوزين
منذ أشهر 4

عبارات كاملة من الهراء والغباء "… .. بعد العدوان الروسي على أوكرانيا عام 2014 ……".
قد يكون مؤلف هذا المقال محقًا في علم الاقتصاد ... ولكنه جاهل تمامًا في الأحداث التاريخية المعاصرة …… يكرر مثل ببغاء الرواية المشوهة لحلف شمال الأطلسي و MSM للمأساة الأوكرانية في عام 2014….

TheLooseTruth
TheLooseTruth
منذ أشهر 4
الرد على  كانوزين

حسنًا .......... يقوم هؤلاء المؤلفون بشكل روتيني ببغاء النسخة الرسمية "الخيالية" لمولود ميشيغان إم إس إم للأحداث المحلية والعالمية. كما قلت ، قد يكونون على دراية جيدة ويقدمون الحقيقة في مجالهم المحدد ولكنهم لا يقومون أبدًا بالبحث "المطلوب بشدة" للتحقق من الروايات التاريخية التي كتبها كتاب القصص الخيالية في صحف المدن الكبرى (نيويورك تايمز ، WP ، LAT ، إلخ) أو شبكات التلفزيون CNN و MSNBC و ABC وما إلى ذلك)

مكافحة الإمبراطورية

Russia’s Big Bet on Gold Is Paying Off

This is just the beginning; sky is the limit for gold when dollar pops

For years, Russia has been the world’s biggest sovereign gold bug: even while gold prices were in the doldrums, it doggedly kept increasing its reserves. Now that gold is at the highest level since 2013, the tactic appears to be paying off.

The U.S. dollar’s dominance as a global reserve currency is commonly thought to result from the dearth of safe assets. Russia, however, recently has provided an example of how a sizable economy with the world’s fifth biggest international reserves can minimize dollar assets and still do well. So far, it doesn’t have many followers, but gold buying by central banks is going up.

Since being hit by sanctions for its aggression against Ukraine in 2014, Russia has had good reasons to rethink the composition of its international reserve. [Actually Russia’s gold buying strategy goes much further back.] While the European Union hasn’t toughened its sanctions for almost five years, the U.S. has been doing it all the time.

The Kremlin and the Bank of Russia consider the risk of further restrictions unpredictable and dependent more on U.S. domestic politics than on anything Russia does. In the 12 months since the end of September 2017, the central bank has more than halved the dollar’s share in its international assets and sharply increased the shares of the euro and the renminbi.

These data, the latest available from the central bank, show the share of gold slightly dropping, even though Russia added 274 metric tons of the metal to its reserves in 2018, bringing its total reserves to 2,113 tons. That’s because other assets also increased as Russia sought to insulate itself from Western pressure — and because in those 12 months, the price of gold dropped by almost 7%.

Generally, though, the metal’s market performance has, for the most part, justified Russia’s stubborn trust in it. 

And so far this month, as the price of gold has soared by about 7%, it has added about $7 billion to Russia’s international reserves (assuming no new purchases since the end of the first quarter of 2019).

If the price increase holds, gold will account for some 20% of Russia’s half a trillion dollars in international reserves, approaching the dollar’s share. 

The dollar, of course, remains the world’s biggest reserve currency, and gold and other currencies aren’t exactly displacing it worldwide. But then, the World Gold Council has noted an upward trend in net gold purchases by central banks that goes way beyond the Russian effort — even through Russia remains the biggest buyer. In the first quarter of 2019, central banks bought a record amount of gold, 715.7 metric tons.

China has its own problems with the U.S. and with the dollar. While it can’t cut its enormous dollar assets as decisively as Russia has reduced its smaller ones, it has gone for a gradual reduction. And it has shown an increased interest in gold.

Other significant gold buyers include Turkey and India — the latter, like China and Russia, a member of the global top 10 by international reserves.

Low U.S. interest rates, the Trump administration’s unpredictable combativeness and insatiable appetite for debt, and geopolitical instability are making gold look like a safer asset than U.S. debt instruments. A few more years of this, and it’s possible that more countries’ international reserves will be structured like Russia’s.

President Vladimir Putin’s regime moved first among big reserve holders to phase out the dollar because it had the biggest reasons to fear the U.S. The current and future U.S. administrations should tread carefully to avoid giving others similar incentives to kick their dollar habit and follow the Kremlin’s example. While Russia’s economic management in general leaves much to be desired, the country’s approach to building international reserves is looking more and more prescient.

Source: Bloomberg



You may back the site at:




Subscribe
Notify of
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

thomas malthaus
thomas malthaus
24 days ago

https://www.armscontrol.org/act/2019-07/focus/boltons-attempt-sabotage-new-start?source=focus

While I’m not always sure where Bolton is coming from, since he entered the WH as national security adviser the world has become a more dangerous place. That goes without enumerating the points.

He has probably made indirect plays into foreign economic matters resulting in nations going on a de-dollarizing regimen whose effects not as yet fully recognized.

When Erdogan, Modi, and other world leaders consider the S-400 and other Russian weapons systems, they’re probably simultaneously thanking Mr. Putin and scorching Bolton.

I never thought until now that US global trade has becomes so existential as to rely on one individual’s motive and actions that may imperil the economy for a generation and possibly beyond.

Canosin
Canosin
24 days ago

complete nonsense and idiotic phrases “….. after Russian aggression in Ukraine in 2014……”
the author of this article may be right in economics….. but a complete ignorant in contemporary historic events…… repeating like a parrot the distorted NATO and MSM narrative of the Ukrainian tragedy in 2014….

TheLooseTruth
TheLooseTruth
24 days ago
Reply to  Canosin

Well put……..These authors routinely parrot the MSM official “fictional” version of both domestic & world events. Like you said they may be well informed and presenting truth in their given field but never do the “much needed” research verifying the historical accounts written by the fiction writers of big city Newspapers (NYT, WP, LAT, etc) or the TV networks CNN, MSNBC, ABC etc)

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!