هيرو أونودا ، الجندي الياباني الذي أطلق "القتال" ... عام 1974

انشغل بقرصنة الفلاحين المحليين حتى الموت حتى تم العثور عليه وأمره رسميًا بالتنحي

فلديهم لإمبراطورية اليابان ، فقد عرفوا كيف يبرمجونها

الملازم هيرو أونودا هو أشهر ما يسمى بالمعاقل اليابانية ، وهي مجموعة من المتشردين في الجيش الإمبراطوري الذين استمروا في الاختباء في جنوب المحيط الهادئ لعدة سنوات بعد انتهاء الحرب العالمية الثانية.

كان أونودا ، ضابط المخابرات ، في لوبانغ منذ عام 1944 ، قبل بضعة أشهر من غزو الأمريكيين للفلبين واستعادتهم. التعليمات الأخيرة التي تلقاها من رئيسه المباشر أمرته بالتراجع إلى داخل الجزيرة - التي كانت صغيرة وفي الحقيقة ذات أهمية ضئيلة - ومضايقة قوات الاحتلال الحلفاء حتى عودة الجيش الإمبراطوري الياباني في النهاية. قيل له: "أنت ممنوع تمامًا أن تموت بيدك". "قد يستغرق الأمر ثلاث سنوات ، وقد يستغرق خمس سنوات ، ولكن مهما حدث ، سنعود من أجلك. حتى ذلك الحين ، طالما لديك جندي واحد ، عليك الاستمرار في قيادته ".

واصل أونودا حملته بصفته معقلًا يابانيًا ، حيث عاش في البداية في الجبال مع ثلاثة زملائه الجنود (الجندي ييتشي أكاتسو ، والعريف شويشي شيمادا والجندي من الدرجة الأولى كينشيشي كوزوكا). أثناء إقامته ، قام أونودا ورفاقه بأنشطة حرب العصابات واشتبكوا في عدة اشتباكات مع الشرطة.

كان لا بد من إعطائهم أوامر رسمية لوقف مهاجمة الفلاحين الذين يسعون إلى حقول الأرز ...

كانت المرة الأولى التي رأوا فيها منشورًا يعلن استسلام اليابان في أكتوبر 1945 ؛ قتلت زنزانة أخرى بقرة ووجدت منشوراً تركه سكان الجزر نصه: "انتهت الحرب في 15 أغسطس. انزل من الجبل!". ومع ذلك ، لم يثقوا في النشرة. وخلصوا إلى أن المنشور كان عبارة عن دعاية للحلفاء ، واعتقدوا أيضًا أنه لم يكن من الممكن إطلاق النار عليهم إذا كانت الحرب قد انتهت بالفعل.

قرب نهاية عام 1945 ، تم إسقاط منشورات عن طريق الجو مع أمر استسلام مطبوع عليها من الجنرال تومويوكي ياماشيتا من جيش المنطقة الرابعة عشرة. لقد كانوا مختبئين لأكثر من عام ، وكان هذا المنشور هو الدليل الوحيد على انتهاء الحرب. نظرت مجموعة أونودا عن كثب في المنشور لتحديد ما إذا كانت أصلية ، وقرروا أنها ليست كذلك.

... لا يزال حصل على عفو على حساب كيف كان ذلك فضيحة محيرة للعقل.

واحد من الأربعة ، ابتعد يويتشي أكاتسو عن الآخرين في سبتمبر 1949 واستسلم للقوات الفلبينية في عام 1950 بعد ستة أشهر بمفرده. بدا هذا وكأنه مشكلة أمنية للآخرين وأصبحوا أكثر حرصًا. في عام 1952 ، تم إسقاط رسائل وصور عائلية من الطائرات تحثهم على الاستسلام ، لكن الجنود الثلاثة خلصوا إلى أن هذه خدعة.

أصيب شيمادا برصاصة في ساقه خلال تبادل لإطلاق النار مع صيادين محليين في يونيو 1953 ، وبعد ذلك أعاده أونودا إلى حالته الصحية. في 7 مايو 1954 ، قُتل شيمادا برصاصة أطلقها فريق بحث يبحث عن الرجال. قُتل كوزوكا برصاصتين أطلقتهما الشرطة المحلية في 19 أكتوبر 1972 ، عندما كان هو وأونودا ، كجزء من أنشطة حرب العصابات ، يحرقان الأرز الذي كان يجمعه المزارعون. كان أونودا الآن بمفرده.

في 20 فبراير 1974 ، التقى أونودا برجل ياباني ، نوريو سوزوكي ، كان يسافر حول العالم ، باحثًا عن "الملازم أونودا ، باندا ، ورجل الثلج البغيض ، بهذا الترتيب". عثر سوزوكي على أونودا بعد أربعة أيام من البحث. وصف أونودا هذه اللحظة في مقابلة عام 2010: "جاء هذا الصبي الهبي سوزوكي إلى الجزيرة للاستماع إلى مشاعر جندي ياباني. سألني سوزوكي لماذا لن أخرج ... ". أصبح أونودا وسوزوكي صديقين ، لكن أونودا ما زال يرفض الاستسلام ، قائلاً إنه ينتظر أوامر من ضابط أعلى.

عاد سوزوكي إلى اليابان مع صور له ولأونودا كدليل على مواجهتهما ، وحددت الحكومة اليابانية الضابط القائد في أونودا ، الرائد يوشيمي تانيغوتشي ، الذي أصبح بائع كتب منذ ذلك الحين. لقد سافر إلى لوبانغ حيث التقى في 9 مارس 1974 أخيرًا مع أونودا ووفى بالوعد الذي قطعه في عام 1944 ، "مهما حدث ، سنعود إليك" ، بإصدار الأوامر التالية له:

1. وفقًا للقيادة الإمبراطورية ، أوقف جيش المنطقة الرابعة عشرة جميع الأنشطة القتالية.
2. بناء على قرار القيادة العسكرية رقم أ -2003 ، يُعفى السرب الخاص من قيادة الأركان من كافة المهام العسكرية.
3. على الوحدات والأفراد الخاضعين لقيادة السرب الخاص أن يوقفوا الأنشطة والعمليات العسكرية على الفور ويضعون أنفسهم تحت قيادة أقرب ضابط أعلى رتبة. عندما لا يمكن العثور على ضابط ، يجب عليهم التواصل مع القوات الأمريكية أو الفلبينية واتباع توجيهاتهم.
- هيرو أونودا ، أونودا 1999 ، ص 13-14

وهكذا تم إعفاء أونودا بشكل صحيح من الواجب ، واستسلم. قام بتسليم سيفه وبندقيته العاملة من نوع Arisaka Type 99 و 500 طلقة وعدة قنابل يدوية ، بالإضافة إلى خنجر أعطته له والدته في عام 1944 ليقتل نفسه إذا تم القبض عليه. على الرغم من أنه قتل أشخاصًا واشترك في تبادل لإطلاق النار مع الشرطة ، فقد تم أخذ الظروف (أي أنه يعتقد أن الحرب لا تزال جارية) في الاعتبار ، وتلقى أونودا عفوًا من الرئيس فرديناند ماركوس.

كان أونودا يتمتع بشعبية كبيرة بعد عودته إلى اليابان لدرجة أن بعض اليابانيين حثوه على الترشح للدايت (المجلس التشريعي الياباني المكون من مجلسين). كما أصدر سيرة ذاتية مكتوبة بالأشباح ، لا استسلام: حرب الثلاثين عامًا ، بعد فترة وجيزة من عودته ، يشرح بالتفصيل حياته كمقاتل حرب العصابات في حرب انتهت لفترة طويلة.

وبحسب ما ورد لم يكن سعيدًا لكونه موضوعًا للكثير من الاهتمام وكان منزعجًا مما رآه على أنه ذبول القيم اليابانية التقليدية. في أبريل 1975 ، حذا حذو أخيه الأكبر تاداو وغادر اليابان متوجهاً إلى البرازيل ، حيث كان يربي الماشية. تزوج في عام 1976 وتولى دورًا رائدًا في Colônia Jamic (Jamic Colony) ، المجتمع الياباني في Terenos ، Mato Grosso do Sul ، البرازيل.

كن إنسانًا غير ذكي للغاية ، اخترق الفلاحين حتى الموت ، وكن "سلطة أخلاقية" كبيرة

بعد القراءة عن مراهق ياباني قتل والديه في عام 1980 ، عاد أونودا إلى اليابان في عام 1984 وأسس معسكر أونودا شيزين جوكو ("مدرسة أونودا الطبيعية") للشباب ، الذي أقيم في مواقع مختلفة في اليابان. توفي أونودا بسبب قصور في القلب في 16 يناير 2014 ، في مستشفى سانت لوك الدولي في طوكيو ، بسبب مضاعفات الالتهاب الرئوي. علق كبير أمناء مجلس الوزراء الياباني يوشيهيدي سوجا على وفاته: "أتذكر بوضوح أنني شعرت بالاطمئنان بشأن نهاية الحرب عندما عاد السيد أونودا إلى اليابانوأشاد أيضا بإرادته في البقاء.

المصدر صور تاريخية نادرة

إخطار
guest
15 التعليقات
أقدم
الأحدث معظم صوت
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

تعقيب

[...] أعيد طبعه من المصدر [...]

تعقيب
منذ 1 العام

[...] هيرو أونودا ، الجندي الياباني الذي تخلى عن "القتال" ... في عام 1974 بواسطة Rare Historical Photos في 28 ديسمبر 2019 الساعة 12:50 [...]

Undecider
غير مقرّر
منذ أشهر 4

"كاروشي" - الموت بسبب العمل الإضافي. هذا ياباني لم يمت من العمل لما يقرب من ثلاثة عقود من العمل الإضافي.

Genghis Gobi
منذ أشهر 4

كيف هو مجرم حرب؟ لقد تمسك بأمانة بالأوامر التي أُعطيت له: "مهما كان الأمر ، فأنت صامد للغاية حتى نعود من أجلك". هذا يتطلب شجاعة أخلاقية ومثابرة لا تصدق.

كان هناك جندي كوري ياباني آخر صمد لفترة أطول ، ولا أتذكر اسمه الآن ، لكنه غير مؤهل لأنه اعترف بأنه كان يعلم أن الحرب قد انتهت لكنه لم يرغب في التعامل معها اليابان ما بعد الحرب.

SFC Steven M Barry USA RET
ستيفن إم باري الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ريت
منذ أشهر 4

من هو المبلل في الفراش الذي كتب تعليق الصور؟ في القوات الخاصة في منتصف السبعينيات من القرن الماضي ، كنا نحترم أونودا كثيرًا.

Marko Marjanović
منذ أشهر 4

ونعلم جميعًا ما هي منارات القوات الخاصة ذات الحكم الجيد.

Garry Compton
جاري كومبتون
منذ أشهر 4

كان هذا دحضًا كبيرًا ، على الرغم من أنني كنت هناك - نام 70 و 71. لول

Melville Pouwels
منذ أشهر 4

يراهن أن أطفاله فخورون به جدًا

FilastinHuratan
فلسطين
منذ أشهر 4
الرد على  ملفيل بويلز

ألا يجب أن يكونوا كذلك؟

Genghis Gobi
منذ أشهر 4
الرد على  ملفيل بويلز

بالطبع يجب عليهم ذلك.

mwk
MWK
منذ أشهر 4

ولاء ياباني مذهل. أن يطلق عليه الغربيون اسم فأر يشبه النفاق الغربي المعتاد عند التفكير في فظاعة القصف النووي على هيروشيما وناغازاكي

Genghis Gobi
منذ أشهر 4
الرد على  MWK

وتفجيرات حريق في 65 مدينة يابانية باستثناء طوكيو التي تعرضت للقصف مرة أخرى بعد ناغازاكي وعندما قرر اليابانيون بالفعل الاستسلام.

Canosin
كانوزين
منذ أشهر 4

قد يبدو غريبا ... لكن هؤلاء الرجال يعرفون ما يعنيه الشرف والولاء والوفاق والإخلاص… .. بالطبع في سياق مدونة السلوك اليابانية والولاء لتينو… .. بطريقة ما مثيرة للإعجاب ولكن cpl. أجنبي للغربيين

Marko Marjanović
منذ أشهر 4
الرد على  كانوزين

التفاني في عمل إجرامي غريب لكنه ليس فضيلة. لم يكن يهاجم حتى الجنود الأمريكيين ولكن القرويين الفلبينيين يعتنون بأرضهم.

حكاية تحذيرية جيدة فيما يحدث عندما تكون "مشرفًا" شخصيًا ولكن دع الدولة تفكر نيابة عنك.

FilastinHuratan
فلسطين
منذ أشهر 4

التفاني في عمل إجرامي غريب لكنه ليس فضيلة.

قل ذلك لجنود الولايات المتحدة ولجرذان المستنقعات الجبانة العنصرية الذين يتنكّرون بأنهم "جنود" لفلسطين المحتلة.

مكافحة الإمبراطورية

Hiroo Onoda, the Japanese Soldier Who Gave Up the “Fight”…in 1974

Busied himself with hacking local peasants to death until found and formally ordered to stand down

Gotta give it to Imperial Japan, they knew how to program them

Lieutenant Hiroo Onoda is the most famous of the so-called Japanese holdouts, a collection of Imperial Army stragglers who continued to hide out in the South Pacific for several years after World War II had ended.

An intelligence officer, Onoda had been on Lubang since 1944, a few months before the Americans invaded and retook the Philippines. The last instructions he had received from his immediate superior ordered him to retreat to the interior of the island – which was small and in truth of minimal importance – and harass the Allied occupying forces until the Imperial Japanese Army eventually returned. “You are absolutely forbidden to die by your own hand”, he was told. “It may take three years, it may take five, but whatever happens, we’ll come back for you. Until then, so long as you have one soldier, you are to continue to lead him”.

Onoda continued his campaign as a Japanese holdout, initially living in the mountains with three fellow soldiers (Private Yūichi Akatsu, Corporal Shōichi Shimada and Private First Class Kinshichi Kozuka). During his stay, Onoda and his companions carried out guerrilla activities and engaged in several shootouts with the police.

Had to be given formal orders to stop attacking peasants tending to rice fields…

The first time they saw a leaflet announcing that Japan had surrendered was in October 1945; another cell had killed a cow and found a leaflet left behind by islanders which read: “The war ended on August 15. Come down from the mountain!”. However, they mistrusted the leaflet. They concluded that the leaflet was Allied propaganda, and also believed that they would not have been fired on if the war had indeed been over.

Toward the end of 1945, leaflets were dropped by air with a surrender order printed on them from General Tomoyuki Yamashita of the Fourteenth Area Army. They had been in hiding for over a year, and this leaflet was the only evidence they had the war was over. Onoda’s group looked very closely at the leaflet to determine whether it was genuine, and decided it was not.

…still got a pardon on the account of how mind-bogglingly scandalous that was.

One of the four, Yuichi Akatsu walked away from the others in September 1949 and surrendered to Filipino forces in 1950 after six months on his own. This seemed like a security problem to the others and they became even more careful. In 1952 letters and family pictures were dropped from aircraft urging them to surrender, but the three soldiers concluded that this was a trick.

Shimada was shot in the leg during a shoot-out with local fishermen in June 1953, after which Onoda nursed him back to health. On May 7, 1954, Shimada was killed by a shot fired by a search party looking for the men. Kozuka was killed by two shots fired by local police on October 19, 1972, when he and Onoda, as part of their guerrilla activities, were burning rice that had been collected by farmers. Onoda was now alone.

On February 20, 1974, Onoda met a Japanese man, Norio Suzuki, who was traveling around the world, looking for “Lieutenant Onoda, a panda, and the Abominable Snowman, in that order”. Suzuki found Onoda after four days of searching. Onoda described this moment in a 2010 interview: “This hippie boy Suzuki came to the island to listen to the feelings of a Japanese soldier. Suzuki asked me why I would not come out…”. Onoda and Suzuki became friends, but Onoda still refused to surrender, saying that he was waiting for orders from a superior officer.

Suzuki returned to Japan with photographs of himself and Onoda as proof of their encounter, and the Japanese government located Onoda’s commanding officer, Major Yoshimi Taniguchi, who had since become a bookseller. He flew to Lubang where on March 9, 1974, he finally met with Onoda and fulfilled the promise made in 1944, “Whatever happens, we’ll come back for you,” by issuing him the following orders:

1. In accordance with the Imperial command, the Fourteenth Area Army has ceased all combat activity.
2. In accordance with military Headquarters Command No. A-2003, the Special Squadron of Staff’s Headquarters is relieved of all military duties.
3. Units and individuals under the command of Special Squadron are to cease military activities and operations immediately and place themselves under the command of the nearest superior officer. When no officer can be found, they are to communicate with the American or Philippine forces and follow their directives.
— Hiroo Onoda, Onoda 1999, pp. 13–14

Onoda was thus properly relieved of duty, and he surrendered. He turned over his sword, his functioning Arisaka Type 99 rifle, 500 rounds of ammunition and several hand grenades, as well as the dagger his mother had given him in 1944 to kill himself with if he was captured. Though he had killed people and engaged in shootouts with the police, the circumstances (namely, that he believed that the war was still ongoing) were taken into consideration, and Onoda received a pardon from President Ferdinand Marcos.

Onoda was so popular following his return to Japan that some Japanese urged him to run for the Diet (Japan’s bicameral legislature). He also released a ghostwritten autobiography, No Surrender: My Thirty-Year War, shortly after his return, detailing his life as a guerrilla fighter in a war that was long over.

He was reportedly unhappy being the subject of so much attention and troubled by what he saw as the withering of traditional Japanese values. In April 1975, he followed the example of his elder brother Tadao and left Japan for Brazil, where he raised cattle. He married in 1976 and assumed a leading role in Colônia Jamic (Jamic Colony), the Japanese community in Terenos, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil.

Be a not very smart robot, hack peasants to death, become a big “moral authority”

After reading about a Japanese teenager who had murdered his parents in 1980, Onoda returned to Japan in 1984 and established the Onoda Shizen Juku (“Onoda Nature School”) educational camp for young people, held at various locations in Japan. Onoda died of heart failure on 16 January 2014, at St. Luke’s International Hospital in Tokyo, due to complications from pneumonia. Japanese Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga commented on his death: “I vividly remember that I was reassured of the end of the war when Mr Onoda returned to Japan” and also praised his will to survive.

Source: Rare Historical Photos

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
16 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

trackback

[…] Reprinted from Source […]

trackback

[…] Hiroo Onoda, the Japanese Soldier Who Gave Up the “Fight”…in 1974 by Rare Historical Photos on December 28, 2019 at 12:50 […]

Undecider
Undecider
10 months ago

“Karoshi” – Death by overtime. This is one Japanese who didn’t die from working nearly three decades of overtime.

Genghis Gobi
10 months ago

How is he a war criminal? He stuck faithfully to the orders he was given: “no matter what, you are too hold out until we come back for you”. This required incredible moral courage and tenacity.

There was another Korean-Japanese soldier who hung on for even longer, whose name I don’t recall right now, but who doesn’t qualify because he admitted that he knew the war was over but didn’t want to have to deal with a postwar Japan.

SFC Steven M Barry USA RET
SFC Steven M Barry USA RET
10 months ago

Who is the bed-wetting jerk-off who wrote the photo captions? In Special Forces during the mid-1970s we held Onoda in high regard.

Marko Marjanović
9 months ago

And we all know what beacons of good judgment special forces are.

Garry Compton
Garry Compton
9 months ago

That was a great – rebuttal , even though I have been there – Nam 70 and 71. lol

Melville Pouwels
10 months ago

bet his children are sooo proud of him

FilastinHuratan
FilastinHuratan
10 months ago

Shouldn’t they be?

Genghis Gobi
9 months ago

Of course they should.

mwk
mwk
10 months ago

amazing Japanese loyalty. for westerners to call him a rat is almost like the typical western hypocrisy when thinking about the atrocity of nuclear bombings on Hiroshima and Nagasaki

Genghis Gobi
9 months ago
Reply to  mwk

And the fire bombings of 65 Japanese cities apart from Tokyo, which was again bombed after Nagasaki and when the Japanese had already decided to surrender.

Canosin
Canosin
10 months ago

it may sound odd …. but these guys knew what honor, loyalty, staunchness, faithfulness meant….. of course in the context of the Japanese code of conduct and allegiance to the Tenno…..somehow admirable but cpl. foreign to westerners

Marko Marjanović
9 months ago
Reply to  Canosin

Devotion to a criminal enterprise is quaint but it’s not a virtue. He wasn’t even attacking US soldiers but Filipino villagers tending to their land.

A good cautionary tale in what happens when you’re personally “honorable” but let a state do your thinking for you.

FilastinHuratan
FilastinHuratan
9 months ago

Devotion to a criminal enterprise is quaint but it’s not a virtue.

Tell that to U.S. “soldiers” and to those cowardly, racist bog rats posing as “soldiers” for Occupied Palestine.

Brutus
Brutus
2 months ago

Guess fire bombing cities, napalming villages, and even nuking cities is not attacking civilians?

Besides, Japan was not the aggressor.

Brutus

Anti-Empire