للعملات الأخرى بغير الدولار الأمريكي: EUR, CAD, AUD, GBP, التشفير

29 منكم يدعمون ربع الصيف بمبلغ 637 دولارًا. تم رفع 42٪ من متطلبات 1500 دولار.


قيل إن مليوني شخص كانوا يحتجون في هونغ كونغ لكن الرياضيات لا تضيف شيئًا

مقابل مليوني شخص ، ستحتاج إلى ملء أكثر من 2 ميلاً من الشوارع - وهو شيء لم نراه

مجموع السكان 7.5 مليون

امتد حشد المتظاهرين في هونغ كونغ يوم الأحد لأكثر من ميل. بينما نظر المجلس التشريعي في المدينة في مشروع قانون من شأنه أن يسمح بتسليم المجرمين من هونغ كونغ ، التي تتمتع بحكم شبه ذاتي ، إلى الصين ، قدرت الجبهة المدنية لحقوق الإنسان ، المجموعة التي نظمت المظاهرة ، أن أكثر من مليون شخص قد خرجوا للمشاركة في المسيرة. لكن شرطة هونج كونج قدرت العدد بـ 240,000 ألف شخص.

حجم الحشد هو علامة على الطاقة حول سبب ما. "من الصعب قياس الحماس بناءً على الخطب أو مستوى الضوضاء" ، كما يقول ستيف دويج ، المتخصص في عد الحشود المستند إلى البيانات كأستاذ في كلية والتر كرونكايت للصحافة والاتصال الجماهيري في جامعة ولاية أريزونا. "لذا فإن حجم الحشد هو الرمز الذي تريد مختلف الأطراف تضخيمه أو تقليصه".

في عام 1996 ، حظر الكونجرس خدمة المتنزهات الوطنية من الإفراج عن تقديرات حجم الحشود بعد أن هدد الناشط لويس فاراخان برفع دعوى قضائية على حساباتها بأن مسيرة المليون رجل اجتذبت 400,000 ألف شخص فقط. (أجرى باحثون في جامعة بوسطن تحليلاً مستقلاً ووجدوا أن الحشد كان أقرب إلى 800,000 ألف شخص.) من الواضح أن ادعاء دونالد ترامب - بأن جمهور تنصيبه في عام 2017 كان الأكبر على الإطلاق - لم يكن صحيحًا ؛ لكن رغبته في تجاوز الأرقام السابقة كانت تستند إلى مقارنات مع أعداد وهمية أخرى من الحشود. من المفترض أن يؤدي أداء ليندون جونسون اليمين الدستورية بحضور 1.2 مليون شخص في عام 1965. يقول دويغ: "هذه معايير يستحيل التغلب عليها". "الادعاء بأنني الأكثر شعبية يصبح سخيفًا."

عادةً لا يتم احتواء الحشود الكبيرة بدقة كافية لإحصاء عدد الجثث بسهولة ما لم يجتمع الناس في ساحة أو قاعة مؤتمرات. "المعيار الذهبي هو قياس المنطقة التي تحتوي على الحشد ثم عمل تقدير معقول للكثافة ،" دويغ يقول. "إنها عملية حسابية بسيطة ، تعتمد على الواقع." هذا هو السبب في أن المسيرات ، أو مسيرات الهجرة ، هي الأصعب على الإطلاق ، بالنسبة للصحفيين والشرطة على حد سواء.

لدى Doig بعض الطرق السريعة لإجراء حساباته. نصيحته الأولى: تعلم طريقة جاكوبس. يقول دويغ: "يجب تكريم هربرت جاكوبس". في الستينيات ، كان جاكوبس أستاذًا للصحافة في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي ، الذي كان مكتبه يطل على الساحة التي نظمت فيها الاحتجاجات ضد حرب فيتنام. قسم الطوب الأرض إلى نمط المربعات. عندما نظر جاكوبس إلى الأسفل ، ابتكر تقنية: في حشد فضفاض ، قس شخصًا واحدًا لكل عشرة أقدام مربعة. يقول دويغ: "يبدو أن هناك مساحة كبيرة ، لكنك على بعد ذراع من كتف الجميع". في حشد ضيق ، يكون لكل شخص خمسة أقدام مربعة. يقول: "أنت حقًا في فضاء بعضكما البعض". "هناك الكثير من التقديرات السخيفة لقدم مربع واحد لكل شخص ، ولكن هذا يتجاوز كثافة الحفرة الكبيرة."

يحب Doig أيضًا تخيل المنظر من منطاد في السماء. إن الوقوف على مستوى الرأس ، كما يفعل الرئيس الجديد خلال حفل التنصيب ، يجعل الحشود تبدو هائلة - "بحر من الإنسانية" ، كما يقول دويغ. تعطي اللقطة العلوية منظوراً أفضل - على الرغم من صعوبة الحصول عليها في واشنطن العاصمة ، حيث لا توجد طائرات هليكوبتر ولا مبانٍ شاهقة ؛ منطقة العاصمة هي أيضا منطقة خالية من الطائرات بدون طيار.

سوف يقوم أيضًا بتجنيد فريق. في عام 2010 ، على سبيل المثال ، غطى Doig الاحتجاجات العمالية في لشبونة بمساعدة العديد من الطلاب. لقد توصلوا إلى طريقة تعتمد على الوقت: "عشر ثوان هي إلى حد كبير حد مدى الانتباه" ، كما يقول. تمركز طلابه في نقاط مختلفة على طول طريق العرض وقاموا بإحصاء عدد المتظاهرين الذين ساروا كل عشر ثوان. قام الفريق بالتحقق من كثافة الحشد المتسقة ، وبعد ذلك قاموا بمقارنة الأرقام ، قبل ضرب عددهم في طول الوقت الذي استغرقته المسيرة. في النهاية ، زعمت النقابات العمالية أن لديها 100,000 متظاهر. قدر فريق دويغ أن العدد الفعلي كان أقرب إلى 10,000.

في هونغ كونغ ، نظرًا لأن الاحتجاجات تحركت في العديد من الشوارع ، فإن التحدي الحقيقي ، كما يقول دويغ ، هو معرفة "السكان المتاحين". في عام 2017 كان عدد سكان هونغ كونغ 7.4 مليون نسمة. "إذا كانوا يزعمون أن مليون شخص شاركوا في المسيرة ، اسأل نفسك ما إذا كان واحدًا من كل سبعة أشخاص موجودًا هنا حقًا دويغ يقول. "بسأل: عدد كاف من الناس ليس هنا لشرح كيف أن كل شيء في هذه المدينة لا يزال يعمل؟ كم عدد الأطفال الملتحقين بالمدارس الآن وليس في الشارع؟ ما هي النسبة المئوية من إجمالي السكان البالغين الأصحاء؟ "

من المفيد أيضًا التحقق من Google Earth والمحاولة لقياس المنطقة المحتملة التي يمكن أن يتجمع فيها الجمهور. باستخدام هذه الطريقة عند مراجعة صورة لمظاهرات هونغ كونغ (أعلاه) نُشرت هذا الأسبوع في نيو يورك تايمز، يشير دويغ إلى أن المساحة المعروضة ، طريق هينيسي ، يبلغ طولها 210 أمتار وعرضها 25 مترًا ، أو حوالي 5,500 متر مربع. في المقدمة ، كان المسافة بين الناس أقل بقليل من ذراع ، كما لاحظ - ضيقًا أثناء العرض ، ولكن ليس بكثافة الحشد الواقف - مما يجعل فردًا واحدًا لكل متر مربع (حوالي عشرة أقدام مربعة ، لكل عشبة) حكم جاكوبس). يقول: "يميل الحشد الآسيوي إلى أن يكون ممتلئًا بأشخاص ليسوا مثلنا مثل الأمريكيين البدينين ، وهم أكثر اعتيادًا على التواجد في أماكن ضيقة. لذلك سأسمي هذا بشكل تعسفي كثافة تبلغ 0.8 متر مربع لكل شخص ". وهذا يعني وجود حوالي 7,000 شخص في الصورة.

ويضيف: "هذا لا يساعد في تقدير العدد الإجمالي للحشود في ذلك اليوم لأنه ليس لدينا أي فكرة عن جميع الشوارع التي ربما كانت ممتلئة". المباني في هونغ كونغ طويلة جدًا بحيث يصعب جمع صور الأقمار الصناعية ، ويصبح من المستحيل تقريبًا فك اللقطات العلوية. من خلال ما رآه من مصادر على الأرض ، فإنه سيقبل تقديرات متحفظة - بحوالي ربع مليون متظاهر في هونغ كونغ. سيكون من المستحيل إجراء حساب موثوق به بنفسه. إذا كان هناك 7,000 شخص يتسعون لمسافة 210 أمتار ، فسيكون هناك 142.9 قطاعًا من الشوارع ، أو حوالي 18.6 ميلًا من الشوارع معبأة دفعة واحدة لإحصاء مليون متظاهر، والتي تبدو كثيرة جدًا. يقول دويج: لا شيء من هذا علم دقيق. "هل هذا ما حدث؟ لا أدري."

المصدر مراجعة الصحافة الكولومبية

إخطار
guest
9 التعليقات
أقدم
الأحدث معظم صوت
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

Godfree Roberts
جودفري روبرتس
منذ أشهر 5

حسنا حسنا. يمكنك الاختباء وراء "الإحصائيات" وادعاء وجود 240,000 متظاهر ، لكن يجب أن تعترف بوجود ما لا يقل عن 2,000,000 من الأويغور محتجزين في معسكرات الاعتقال الجهنمية في شينجيانغ. حق؟ حق؟

pooi-hoong chan
تشان بووي هوونغ
منذ أشهر 5
الرد على  جودفري روبرتس

يبلغ عدد سكان الأويغور حوالي 10 ملايين. قل 5 في الأسرة لأنه لا يوجد 1/2 سياسة الطفل للأقليات. وهذا يعني أن مليوني أسرة فقدت كل أسرة مصدر خبزها لأن المتطرفين النشطين يميلون لأن يكونوا في سن العمل. سيكون هناك الملايين من الأويغور يتسولون للحصول على الطعام في الشوارع وأيضًا أعمال الشغب.

Godfree Roberts
جودفري روبرتس
منذ أشهر 5

الدقة! في الواقع ، أرسل مجلس العالم الإسلامي عشرات المفتشين للتحقق بدقة من إخوانهم المسلمين في شينجيانغ. إليكم ما قاله أحدهم لصحيفة تايمز أوف إنديا:

قال ممتاز زهرة بلوش ، القائم بالأعمال في سفارة باكستان في الصين ، لصحيفة جلوبال تايمز الحكومية يوم الخميس: "خلال هذه الزيارة ، لم أجد أي حالة عمل قسري أو قمع ثقافي وديني".

قال بالوش ، الذي زار شينجيانغ: "الأئمة الذين التقيناهم في المساجد ، وأخبرنا الطلاب والمعلمون في معهد شينجيانغ الإسلامي أنهم يتمتعون بالحرية في ممارسة الإسلام وأن الحكومة الصينية تقدم الدعم لصيانة المساجد في جميع أنحاء شينجيانغ". جزء من وفد الدبلوماسيين.

وبالمثل ، لم أر أي علامة على القمع الثقافي. إن ثقافة الأويغور كما يتضح من لغتهم وموسيقاهم ورقصهم هي جزء كبير من حياة شعب شينجيانغ ".

وردا على سؤال حول الوضع الأمني ​​في شينجيانغ ، الذي "يكتنفه الإرهاب" ، قال بالوش ، "علمنا أن الإجراءات الأخيرة أدت إلى تحسين الوضع الأمني ​​في شينجيانغ ولم تكن هناك حوادث إرهابية في الأشهر الأخيرة".

"إن تدابير مكافحة الإرهاب التي يتم اتخاذها متعددة الأبعاد ولا تركز فقط على جوانب إنفاذ القانون. وقالت إن التعليم وتخفيف حدة الفقر والتنمية هي مفتاح إستراتيجية الحكومة الصينية لمكافحة الإرهاب.

دعت حكومة شينجيانغ الإقليمية مبعوثين دبلوماسيين وممثلين من روسيا وكازاخستان وقيرغيزستان وأوزبكستان وطاجيكستان والهند وباكستان وإندونيسيا وماليزيا وأفغانستان وتايلاند والكويت عقب ورود تقارير عن احتجاز آلاف الأويغور وغيرهم من المسلمين في معسكرات تعليمية ضخمة. .

قالت لجنة القضاء على التمييز العنصري التابعة للأمم المتحدة ومقرها جنيف العام الماضي إنها تشعر بالقلق من "التقارير العديدة عن عرقية الأويغور والأقليات المسلمة الأخرى" التي تم احتجازها في منطقة شينجيانغ ودعت إلى إطلاق سراحهم فورًا.

وقالت إن التقديرات المتعلقة بهم "تتراوح من عشرات الآلاف إلى أكثر من مليون".

ودافعت الصين عن المعسكرات ، قائلة إنها معسكرات إعادة تثقيف تهدف إلى إبعاد التطرف والانفصالية عن قطاعات من سكان الأويغور.

وقد أعربت الولايات المتحدة وعدة دول أخرى إلى جانب مسؤولي الأمم المتحدة عن قلقها بشأن المعسكرات.

شنت الصين حملة قمع واسعة النطاق على حركة تركستان الشرقية الإسلامية (ETIM) في مقاطعة شينجيانغ ، حيث كان الأويغور الذين شكلوا أغلبية في المنطقة مضطربين بشأن المستوطنات المتزايدة لمجتمع الهان.

واجهت باكستان والعديد من الدول الإسلامية الأخرى انتقادات بشأن صمتهم إزاء القمع الصيني للمسلمين في شينجيانغ.

يوجد في الصين حوالي 20 مليون مسلم معظمهم من الأويغور ، وهم مجموعة عرقية من أصل تركي ، ومسلمي الهوي ، وهم من أصل عرقي صيني. بينما كان الأويغور يعيشون في شينجيانغ ، على الحدود مع كشمير التي تحتلها باكستان ، أقام مسلمو الهوي في مقاطعة نينغشيا.

قال تقرير حديث في جلوبال تايمز إن الصين أقرت خطة مدتها خمس سنوات لـ "إضفاء الطابع الصيني على الإسلام" في محاولة لجعله متوافقًا مع نسختها من الاشتراكية.

وقال التقرير "هذا عمل مهم للصين لاستكشاف سبل حكم الدين في الدول الحديثة".

وقال بالوش إن الوفد مُنح حق الوصول الكامل والمفتوح إلى المراكز الثلاثة التي زاروها في كاشغر وهوتان.

يشمل برنامج التدريب تعليم اللغة الوطنية المشتركة (الصينية) والقانون والدستور والمهارات المهنية. يشارك الطلاب أيضًا في الأنشطة الترفيهية مثل الرياضة والموسيقى والرقص. لقد شاهدنا العديد من فصول المهارات التي يتم تقديمها في هذه المراكز.

"خلال زيارات هذه المراكز ، أتيحت لنا الفرصة للتفاعل مع كل من الإدارة والطلاب. لاحظنا أن الطلاب يتمتعون بصحة بدنية جيدة. مرافق المعيشة حديثة إلى حد ما ومريحة مع مهاجع منفصلة للرجال والنساء. وقالت: "إنهم يقدمون لهم طعامًا حلال".

وقالت إن لغة الأويغور تُستخدم في المؤسسات الرسمية أو المطارات أو محطات مترو الأنفاق أو مراكز الشرطة أو الفنادق.

حتى نسخ المصحف التي رأيناها في المساجد والمركز الإسلامي ترجمت إلى لغة الأويغور. إن العلامة الأكثر وضوحا لحماية ثقافة الأويغور من قبل الحكومة هي مدارس رياض الأطفال ثنائية اللغة التي تديرها الحكومة حيث يتعلم الأطفال لغة البوتونغهوا وكذلك لغة وثقافة الأويغور منذ صغرهم ".

pooi-hoong chan
تشان بووي هوونغ
منذ أشهر 5
الرد على  جودفري روبرتس

شكرا للمعلومة. لقد قمت بنشرها ، آمل ألا تمانع.

Godfree Roberts
جودفري روبرتس
منذ أشهر 5

خذ راحتك!

CHUCKMAN
منذ أشهر 5
الرد على  جودفري روبرتس

سأكون حذرا بشأن تفاصيل الادعاءات حول الأويغور.

أولاً ، ليس لدينا بيانات جيدة.

ربما الأهم من ذلك ، أن الصين وضعت الملايين من شعبها في معسكرات إعادة التعليم وأرسلت الملايين من سكان الحضر للعمل في مجالات ليست منذ سنوات عديدة.

كان الأمر قاسيًا ومحبطًا ولكن معظم ذلك لم يكن قاتلاً.

أظن أن الجهود مع الأويغور لا تخرج عن ذلك بشكل كبير.

silver749
silver749
منذ أشهر 5

لم يذكر أنه لا أحد يتظاهر مثل هذا في أمريكا ولديهم خلافات مع القوانين ، وبعض الكراهية العامة للحكومة ، ومن الواضح بعض التمييز ضد السود. أو في أوروبا. والاتحاد الأوروبي يقمع بعض الحريات. أرادت تايوان إعادة قاتل. ليس طلبا سيئا حقا. ويقولون إنهم كانوا مسالمين عندما شاهدنا مقطع فيديو يفيد أنهم ليسوا كذلك استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المشفرة لمهاجمة الشرطة بشكل أفضل والتقدم كما هو الحال في الحرب. نشر أسماء عائلات وأطفال الشرطة حتى يتمكن الآخرون من مهاجمتهم ، على غرار ما فعلته ألمانيا النازية عام 1935 ، أمر شرير للغاية. ما هو المشهد الحقيقي. تملأ الكراهية الشباب الراغبين في تغيير الحكومة؟ الصين الرجل السيئ. من الواضح أن بعض الأشياء في الصين يمكن أن تكون أفضل.
لا أرى الشيء الحقيقي مكشوف! للحفاظ على الحريات. لا يبدو هكذا.

CHUCKMAN
منذ أشهر 5

مجرد جزء صغير من التحليل ممتاز حقًا.

بالطبع ، كل الادعاءات حول حجم الجماهير سياسية للغاية.

الصحف الغربية التي رأيتها استخدمت ادعاء "مليون أو اثنين".

David Bedford
ديفيد بيدفورد
منذ أشهر 5
الرد على  تشوكمان

تمامًا مثل عدد اليهود الذين تم "إبادتهم" ثم إما دفنوا أو حرق جثثهم ، فإن هذه الأرقام لا تتطابق مع

مكافحة الإمبراطورية

2 Million Were Said to Be Protesting in Hong Kong but the Math Doesn’t Add Up

For 2 million you'd need to fill more than 36 miles of streets — something we didn't see

The entire population is 7.5 million

The crowd of protesters in Hong Kong on Sunday stretched more than a mile. As the city’s legislature considered a bill that would allow extraditions from Hong Kong, which is semi-autonomous, to China, Civil Human Rights Front, the group that organized the demonstration, estimated that more than a million people had come out to march. Hong Kong police, however, put the number at 240,000 people.

Crowd size is a marker for energy around a cause. “It’s hard to measure enthusiasm based on speeches or noise level,” says Steve Doig, who specializes in data-based crowd-counting as a professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University. “So the size of the crowd is the token that various sides will want to inflate or deflate.”

In 1996, Congress banned the National Park Service from releasing crowd size estimates after the activist Louis Farrakhan threatened to sue over its calculation that the Million Man March attracted only 400,000 people. (Researchers at Boston University did an independent analysis and found that the crowd was closer to 800,000.) Donald Trump’s claim—that the audience for his inauguration in 2017 was the largest ever—was clearly not true; but his urge to surpass previous numbers was based on comparisons to other fictitious crowd counts. Lyndon Johnson’s swearing-in supposedly had 1.2 million attendees, in 1965. “Those are impossible standards to beat,” Doig says. “The claim that ‘I’m the most popular’ becomes ridiculous.”

Large crowds typically aren’t contained neatly enough for an easy body count unless people gather in an arena or convention hall. “The gold standard is to measure the area containing the crowd and then make a reasonable estimate of the density,” Doig says. “It’s simple math, it’s reality-based.” That’s why parades, or migrating marches, are the hardest of all to quantify, for journalists and police alike.

Doig has a few go-to ways of making his calculations. His first tip: learn The Jacobs Method. “Herbert Jacobs should be enshrined,” Doig says. In the 1960s, Jacobs was a professor of journalism at the University of California, Berkeley, whose office overlooked the plaza where protests against the Vietnam War were held. Bricks divided the ground into a pattern of squares. As Jacobs looked down, he created a technique: in a loose crowd, measure one person per ten square feet. “It sounds like a lot of space,” Doig says, “but you’re arms length from everyone’s shoulder.” In a tight crowd, each person has five square feet. “You’re really in each other’s space then,” he says. “There are a lot of ridiculous estimates for one square foot per person, but that’s beyond mosh pit density.”

Doig also likes to imagine the view from a balloon in the sky. Standing at head level, as a new president would during an inauguration, makes crowds look immense—“a sea of humanity,” Doig says. An overhead shot gives better perspective—though that’s hard to come by in Washington, DC, where there are no helicopter flights and no tall buildings; the capital region is also a no drone zone.

He’ll also enlist a team. In 2010, for instance, Doig covered labor protests in Lisbon with the help of several students. They came up with a method based on time: “Ten seconds is pretty much the limit of attention span,” he says. His students positioned themselves at different points along the parade route and counted how many protestors marched by every ten seconds. The team checked for consistent crowd density, and later they compared numbers, before multiplying their tally by the length of time the march took. In the end, the labor unions claimed to have 100,000 protestors. Doig’s team estimated that the actual number was closer to 10,000.

In Hong Kong, because the protests moved through so many streets, the real challenge, Doig says, is in knowing the “available population.” In 2017 Hong Kong had 7.4 million residents. “If they’re claiming 1 million marched, ask yourself if truly one in every seven people is here,” Doig says. “Ask: Are enough people not here to explain how everything in this city is still operating? How many of the population are kids in school right now, not on the street? What percentage of the total population are able-bodied adults?”

It’s also worth checking Google Earth, and trying to measure the potential area in which a crowd can gather. Using this method when reviewing a photograph of the Hong Kong demonstrations (above) published this week in The New York Times, Doig figures that the space in view, Hennessy Road, is 210 meters long and 25 meters across, or some 5,500 square meters. At the front, people were a little less than an arm’s length apart, he observes—tight for a parade, but not as dense as a standing crowd—which would make for one person per square meter (roughly ten square feet, per the Herb Jacobs rule). “An Asian crowd tends to be filled with people who aren’t as, er, large as us beefy Americans,” he says, “and they are more accustomed to being in tighter quarters. So I am arbitrarily going to call this a density of 0.8 square meters per person.” That makes for about 7,000 people in the photo.

“That doesn’t help estimate the total crowd that day because we have no idea of all the streets that may have been filled,” he adds. Buildings in Hong Kong are so tall that satellite images can be tough to collect, and overhead footage becomes nearly impossible to decipher. From what he’s seen from sources on the ground, he would accept conservative estimates—of some quarter of a million protesters in Hong Kong. It would be impossible to make a reliable calculation himself. If 7,000 people fit in 210 meters, there would need to be 142.9 street segments, or about 18.6 miles of streets packed at once to count a million protestors, which seems like too many. None of this is exact science, Doig says. “Is that what happened? Dunno.”

Source: Colombia Journalism Review



You may back the site at:




Subscribe
Notify of
guest
9 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Godfree Roberts
Godfree Roberts
25 days ago

OK, OK. You can hide behind ‘statistics’ and claim 240,000 protesters, but you must admit that there are at least 2,000,000 Uyghurs locked up in hellish detention camps in Xinjiang. Right? Right?

pooi-hoong chan
pooi-hoong chan
25 days ago

Uyghur population is about 10 million. Say 5 in a family because no 1/2 child policy for minorities. That means 2 million families and each family has lost a bread winner as active extremists tend to be of working age. There will be millions of Uyghurs begging for food on the streets and also riots.

Godfree Roberts
Godfree Roberts
25 days ago

Precisement! In fact, The World Muslim Council sent a dozen inspectors to thoroughly check out their fellow muslims in Xinjiang. Here’s what one of them told The Times of India:

“During this visit, I did not find any instance of forced labour or cultural and religious repression,” Mumtaz Zahra Baloch, the Charge d‘affaires, Pakistan‘s Embassy in China, told the state-run Global Times on Thursday.

“The imams we met at the mosques and the students and teachers at the Xinjiang Islamic Institute told us that they enjoy freedom in practicing Islam and that the Chinese government extends support for maintenance of mosques all over Xinjiang,” said Baloch, who visited Xinjiang as part of delegation of diplomats.

“Similarly, I did not see any sign of cultural repression. The Uighur culture as demonstrated by their language, music and dance is very much part of the life of the people of Xinjiang,” she said.

Asked about the security situation in Xinjiang, which has been “beset by terrorism”, Baloch said, “We learned that the recent measures have resulted in improvement of the security situation in Xinjiang and there have been no incidents of terrorism in recent months.”

“The counter-terrorism measures being taken are multidimensional and do not simply focus on law enforcement aspects. Education, poverty alleviation and development are key to the counter-terrorism strategy of the Chinese government,” she said.

Xinjiang‘s regional government invited diplomatic envoys as well as representatives from Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, India, Pakistan, Indonesia, Malaysia, Afghanistan, Thailand, and Kuwait following reports about detention of thousands of Uighur and other Muslims in massive education camps.

The UN‘s Geneva-based Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination last year said that it was alarmed by “numerous reports of ethnic Uighurs and other Muslim minorities” being detained in Xinjiang region and called for their immediate release.

Estimates about them “range from tens of thousands to upwards of a million,” it had said.

China defended the camps, saying they are re-education camps aimed at de-radicalising sections of the Uighur population from extremism and separatism.

The US and several other countries besides UN officials have expressed concern over the camps.

China has been carrying out massive crackdown on the East Turkistan Islamic Movement (ETIM) in Xinjiang province, where Uyghurs who formed majority in the region were restive over the increasing settlements of Han community.

Pakistan and several other Muslim countries faced criticism about their silence over China‘s crackdown on Muslims in Xinjiang.

China has about 20 million Muslims who are mostly Uighurs, an ethnic group of Turkic origin, and Hui Muslims, who are of the Chinese ethnic origin. While Uighurs lived in Xinjiang, bordering Pakistan-occupied Kashmir, Hui Muslims resided in Ningxia province.

A recent report in the Global Times said China passed a five-year plan to ‘sinicize Islam‘ in a bid to make it compatible with its version of socialism.

“This is China‘s important act to explore ways of governing religion in modern countries,” the report said.

Baloch said the delegation was given full and open access to the three centres that they visited in Kashgar and Hotan.

“The training program includes teaching of national common language (Chinese), law and constitution and vocational skills. The students also participate in recreational activities like sports, music and dance. We witnessed several skill classes being offered in these centres,” she said.

“During the visits to these centres, we had the opportunity to interact with both the management and the students. We observed the students to be in good physical health. The living facilities are fairly modern and comfortable with separate dormitories for men and women. They are being served halal food,” she said.

She said the Uighur language is being used in official establishments, airports, subway stations, police stations or hotels.

“Even the copies of the Koran that we saw in the mosques and the Islamic centre were translated into the Uighur language. The most visible sign of protection of Uighur culture by the government is the government-run bilingual kindergarten schools where children learn Putonghua as well as Uighur language and culture from a very young age,” she said.

pooi-hoong chan
pooi-hoong chan
25 days ago

Thanks for the info. I have spread it around, hope you do not mind.

Godfree Roberts
Godfree Roberts
25 days ago

Feel free!

CHUCKMAN
25 days ago

I’d be careful about details of claims about the Uyghurs.

First, we have no good data.

Perhaps more importantly, China put millions of its own people through re-education camps and sent millions of urban people to work in fields not that many years ago.

It was harsh and depressing but most of that was not murderous.

I suspect the efforts with the Uyghurs do not wildly depart from that.

silver749
silver749
25 days ago

No mention that no one is demonstrating like this in America and they have disagreements with laws, some public hate of government, obviously some discrimination on black people. Or in Europe. And the EU represses some freedoms. Taiwan wanted a murderer sent back. Not a bad request really. And saying they were peaceful when we saw video that the were not. Using coded social media to better attack police and advance like in a war. Publishing names of family and children of police so others could attack them, similar to what nazi Germany did in 1935, very evil. What is the real scene. Hate filled young people wanting to change government? China the bad man. Some things in China can obviously be better.
I don’t see the real thing exposed! To keep freedoms. Does not look like that.

CHUCKMAN
25 days ago

Just a truly excellent little piece of analysis.

Of course, all claims around crowd size are very political.

The Western papers I saw used the “million or two” claim.

David Bedford
David Bedford
25 days ago
Reply to  CHUCKMAN

just like the number of Jews that were ‘exterminated’ and then either buried or cremated, those numbers just don’t add up

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!